Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
2012-2013 CSULB University Catalog

Theatre Arts

Department Information

Department Chair: Joanne Gordon

Department Office: Theatre Arts (TA), Room 221

Telephone: (562) 985‑7891

Faculty: Craig Fleming, Nicki Genovese, Joanne Gordon, Holly Harbinger, W. Jeffrey Hickman, David Jacques, Danila Korogodsky, Ezra LeBank, Patrick McDonough, Hugh O'Gorman, Nancy Jo Smith, Maria Viera

Administrative Coordinator: Ashley Boehne Ehlers

Career Possibilities

Actor • Director • Stage Manager • Lighting Designer • Costume Designer • Set Designer • Technical Director • Teacher • Theatre Administrator • Theatre Manager • Director of Development • Box Office Manager • Managing Director • Artistic Director • Marketing Director • Screenwriter • Playwright • Writer (Some of these, and other careers, require additional education or experience. For more information, see


The Department of Theatre Arts offers the Bachelor of Arts degree with opportunities for options in Performance (acting) and Technical Theatre (scenery/costume/lighting).

The W. David Sievers Memorial Scholarship in acting, named for the first faculty member of the theatre program, is awarded annually to new students who exhibit potential in the field of performance. This award consists of a modest sum and is determined through competitive audition judged by faculty. In addition, the Fine Arts Affiliates of the University and the Dramatic Allied Arts Guild of Long Beach provide for monetary awards to qualified students in all areas of theatre. For further information contact the Department of Theatre Arts.

The Department of Theatre Arts offers graduate study leading to the Master of Fine Arts degrees. The candidate is urged to observe the general requirements stated in this Catalog, as well as the specific departmental requirements stated here and, more fully, in the Department Program Planners, available upon request from the department.

All majors are required to participate in the departmental production program. Furthermore, majors enrolled in any acting course are expected to audition and participate in departmental productions in that semester. The student is expected to accept any role in which he/she is cast. Majors are also expected to seek approval from their advisor before making any commitment to a theatre program which lies outside of the departmental academic program.

The Theatre Arts Department holds division II membership in the National Association of Schools of Theatre (National Association of Schools of Theatre, 11250 Roger Bacon Drive, Suite 21, Reston, VA 20190, phone: 703-437-0700). The Bachelor of Arts and the Master of Fine Arts degrees are accredited by the association. The department is also a member in good standing with the Theatre Communications Group, the International Theatre Institute of the United States and the United States Institute of Theatre Technology.

Print this page Add this page to your favorites Select a font size Select a small font Select a medium font Select a large font

Theatre Arts

Undergraduate Programs

Graduate Programs