Division ID
Skip links
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSmall fontMedium fontLarge font


The California State University

The individual California State Colleges were brought together as a system by the Donahoe Higher Education Act of 1960. In 1972 the system became the California State University and Colleges, and in 1982 the system became the California State University. Today the campuses of the CSU include comprehensive and polytechnic universities and, since July 1995, the California Maritime Academy, a specialized campus.

The oldest campus—San José State University—was founded in 1857 and became the first institution of public higher education in California. The newest--CSU Channel Islands--opened in fall 2002, with freshmen arriving in fall 2003.

Responsibility for the California State University is vested in the Board of Trustees, whose members are appointed by the Governor. The Trustees appoint the Chancellor, who is the chief executive officer of the system, and the Presidents, who are the chief executive officers of the respective campuses.

The Trustees, the Chancellor, and the Presidents develop systemwide policy, with implementation at the campus level taking place through broadly based consultative procedures.

The Academic Senate of the California State University, made up of elected representatives of the faculty from each campus, recommends academic policy to the Board of Trustees through the Chancellor.

Academic excellence has been achieved by the California State University through a distinguished faculty whose primary responsibility is superior teaching. While each campus in the system has its own unique geographic and curricular character, all campuses, as multipurpose institutions, offer undergraduate and graduate instruction for professional and occupational goals as well as broad liberal education. All the campuses require for graduation a basic program of “General Education Requirements” regardless of the type of bachelor’s degree or major field selected by the student.

The CSU offers more than 1,800 bachelor’s and master’s degree programs in some 240 subject areas. Many of these programs are offered so that students can complete all upper division and graduate requirements by part-time, late afternoon, and evening study. In addition, a variety of teaching and school service credential programs are available. A limited number of doctoral degrees are offered jointly with the University of California and with private institutions in California.

Enrollments in fall 2005 totaled 405,000 students, who were taught by some 22,000 faculty. The system awards about half of the bachelor’s degrees and a third of the master’s degrees granted in California. Nearly 2.5 million persons have been graduated from CSU campuses since 1960.


California State University, Bakersfield
9001 Stockdale Highway
Bakersfield, CA 93311-1099
(661) 654-2782
Dr. Horace Mitchell, President
California State University, Northridge
18111 Nordhoff Street
Northridge, CA 91330
(818) 885-1200
Dr. Jolene Koester, President
California State University, Channel Islands
One University Drive
Camarillo, CA 93012
(805) 437-8400
Dr. Richard Rush, President
California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
3801 West Temple Avenue
Pomona, CA 91768
(909) 869-7659
Dr. J. Michael Ortiz, President
California State University, Chico
400 West First Street
Chico, CA  95929-0150
(503) 898-4636
Dr. Paul J. Zingg, President
California State University, Sacramento
6000 J Street
Sacramento, CA 95819
(916) 278-6011
Dr. Alexander Gonzalez, President
California State University, Dominguez Hills
1000 East Victoria Street
Carson, CA 90747-0005
(310) 243-3300
Dr. James E. Lyons, Sr., President
California State University, San Bernardino
5500 University Parkway
San Bernardino, CA 92407-2397
(909) 880-5000
Dr. Albert Karnig, President
California State University, East Bay
25800 Carlos Bee Boulevard
Hayward, CA 94542
(510) 881-3000
Dr. Mohammad Oavoumi, President
San Diego State University
5300 Campanile Drive
San Diego, CA 92182
(619) 594-5000
Dr. Stephen L. Weber, President
California State University, Fresno
5241 North Maple Avenue
Fresno, CA 93740
(209) 278-4240
Dr. John D. Welty, President
San Francisco State University
1600 Holloway Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94132
(415) 338-1111
Dr. Robert A. Corrigan, President
California State University, Fullerton
800 N. State College Blvd.
Fullerton, CA 92634-9480
(714) 278-2011
Dr. Milton A. Gordon, President
San José State University
One Washington Square
San Jose, CA 95192-0001
(408) 924-1000
Mr. Don Kassing, President
Humboldt State University
One Harpst Street
Arcata, CA 95521-8299
(707) 826-3011
Dr. Rollin C. Richmond, President
California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
One Grand Avenue
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
(805) 756-1111
Dr. Warren J. Baker, President
California State University, Long Beach
1250 Bellflower Boulevard
Long Beach, CA 90840-0115
(562) 985-4111
Dr. F. King Alexander, President
California State University, San Marcos
333 South Twin Oaks Valley Road
San Marcos, CA 92069-0001
(760) 750-4000
Dr. Karen S. Haynes, President
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032
(323) 343-3000
Dr. James M. Rosser, President
Sonoma State University
1801 East Cotati Avenue
Rohnert Park, CA 94928-3609
(707) 664-2880
Dr. Ruben Armiñana, President
California Maritime Academy
200 Maritime Academy Drive
Vallejo, CA 94590
(707) 654-1000
Dr. William B. Eisenhardt, President
California State University, Stanislaus
801 West Monte Vista Avenue
Turlock, CA 95380
(209) 667-3122
Dr. Hamid Shirvani, President
California State University, Monterey Bay
100 Campus Center
Seaside, CA 93955-8001
(831) 582-3330
Dr. Dianne Harrison, President