Skip to Main Content

Kyle Myers and Tristan Perez Release New Music

Friday, October 16, 2020:

Despite challenges and isolation, two BCCM graduate students release new music during the COVID-19 outbreak.

To learn more about Kyle and Tristan at the BCCM, see their bios in the Current Graduate Students page.

Won’t You Be My Neighbor—Kyle Myers

Kyle Myers Big Band presents: "Won’t You Be My Neighbor"

MM student in Jazz Studies Kyle Myers released a new arrangement of "Won’t You Be My Neighbor" from the television show Mr. Roger’s Neighborhood. This recording was made completely remotely during the summer months of 2020 by musicians all across the country. It features Steven Robinson on trombone and Alex Flavell on piano.

Kyle Myers Big Band roster of performers on this project includes:

  • Sal Lozano—Alto Saxophone 1 (+Flute, Picc)
  • Kyle Myers—Alto Saxophone 2 (+Flute)
  • Jimmy Emerzian—Tenor Saxophone 1 (+Clarinet)
  • Will Nathman—Tenor Saxophone 2 (+Clarinet)
  • Andrew Duncan—Baritone Saxophone (+Bass Clarinet)
  • Nick Owsik—Trumpet 1
  • Ryan DeWeese—Trumpet 2
  • Tim Saeger—Trumpet 3
  • Evan Hamada—Trumpet 4
  • Nathan Davis—Trombone 1
  • Steven Robinson—Trombone 2 (+solo)
  • Andrew Munoz—Trombone 3
  • Byron Sleugh—Trombone 4
  • Joel White—Guitar
  • Alex Flavell—Piano (+solo)
  • Eric Hitt—Bass
  • John Sturino—Drums

More music by Kyle Myers:

And Spring Still Comes—Tristan Perez

And Spring Still Comes album cover
And Spring Still Comes.

Graduate composer Tristan Perez released a recording, "And Spring Still Comes" in mid-June. On composing and recording the piece, Tristan writes:

"The idea for this piece came from the realization of how much musicians would miss playing in ensembles during the COVID-19 outbreak. I decided to write a piece for large ensemble that could be a way to bring these musicians together to work on something as a collective and make something beautiful. Having the chance to work with so many strangers was a wonderful experience and a reminder that there are always ways to collaborate, create, and build communities if people have the desire to do so. The title for the piece came from the realization that despite the strange situation we have found ourselves in, the birds still sing, and Spring still comes."

You can listen to the new track here.

More music by Tristan Perez:

top ↑

Side Menu
  • Bob Cole Conservatory of Music
  • California State University, Long Beach
  • 1250 N. Bellflower Blvd.
  • Long Beach, CA 90840-7101
  • 562-985-4781 phone
  • 562-985-2490 fax

Privacy Policy

©2002-2021 Bob Cole Conservatory/CSULB