Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Print this pageAdd this page to your favorites Text Size Small fontMedium fontLarge font
Osher Program Officer Andy Lynch and Osher Foundation President May Bitterman

Osher Program Officer Andy Lynch and Osher Foundation President May Bitterman

Bernard Osher Foundation Awards $1 Million Endowment

An 1977, respected businessman and community leader Bernard Osher established a foundation to improve the quality of life for others through support for higher education. Twenty-one years later, the foundation provided CSULB with a $1 million endowment for reentry scholarships, adding the university to its list of Osher Reentry Scholarship Program campuses. Currently, there are 63 universities in 24 states and the District of Columbia participating in this program.

The Osher Reentry Scholarship Program provides scholarship support for students returning to four-year institutions after a significant break in their studies. The program targets returning students who are 25 to 50 years of age and provides them with a $2,000 scholarship. CSULB plans to award scholarships to 25 reentry students a year.

According to Valerie Kelsey of the Center for Scholarship Information, CSULB students who received Osher reentry scholarships for 2008-09 are John Belletto, Christina Billotte, Nadia Castro, Marcia Curney, Sarah Davison, Julie Donnelly, Cynthia Engelenburg, Fransini Giraldo-Brown, Suzanne Graf, Shannon Hartman, Laura Hernandez, Claudia Hipolito, Sharon Howard, Stephanie Johnson, Denise Jollensten, Elleia Kim, Mary Kinard, Pamela Lewis, Ricardo Linarez, Mayra Martinez, Kimberly Mosher, Doris Romines, Sergio Ruano, Patricia Stockton and David Thomas.