Skip to main content

Fees and Financial Assistance

Academic Responsibilities for Aid Recipients

Aid recipients must meet the following Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) requirements:

  • 1. The GPA Standard
  • 2. The Pace Standard
  • 3. The Maximum Time Frame Standard

Aid eligibility is governed by the number of units attempted and successfully completed with a passing grade ("D" or better). Students who do not satisfactorily complete enough of their attempted units, or who fail to meet the GPA standard, may be placed on financial aid warning or disqualified from receiving aid.

Most aid recipients enroll in a full-time program of study carrying 12 undergraduate units or 8 units for Master's Degree Students; 6 units for Doctoral students (500-level courses or higher) per semester. To be considered an eligible financial aid applicant, students cannot have attempted more academic units than an established "unit limit." At CSULB, the established unit limit is 150% of the published length of an academic program measured in units.

For complete information on CSULB's Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy, please visit

University Course Listings
PDF Document IconPrint (PDF) Versions of the Catalog