Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Science Education banner

Faculty and Staff

Please note that the campus buildings are restricted or closed due to COVID-19; faculty and staff will not be available in the listed physical location until further notice. All faculty and staff can still be contacted via email.

Faculty in the Science Education Department have distinguished themselves in numerous ways. They are sought after to work on major projects, they have received numerous grants, awards and they coordinate many projects at the local and national level. Learn more about their grants and projects.

You'll find contact information below for Science Education faculty and staff. For general information, contact the Science Education department office.

Chair and Program Advisors

Name Photo Position & Contact Office Hours
Lisa Martin Chair, Professor
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-205
Lisa.Martin@csulb.edu
Mon: 3:30pm-5:00pm (Zoom drop-in available at this timeslot: Meet with Dr. Martin);
Tue: 1:00pm-3:00pm;
Wed: 1:00pm-2:00pm;
Thu: 7:00pm-8:00pm;
Fri: 1:00pm-2:00pm
Kristin Straits   Science Credential Program Advisor, Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-218
Kristin.Straits@csulb.edu
Mon: 2:30pm-4:00pm (via Zoom conference)
Wed: 2:00pm-4:00pm
or By Appointment
Alan Colburn Graduate Program Advisor
562.985.5948
Office: HSCI-216
Alan.Colburn@csulb.edu

Dr. Colburn's Website
Mon & Wed: 12:00–1:00pm;
or by appointment

Faculty

Name Photo Position & Contact Office Hours
Tamara Araya Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-206
Tamara.Araya@csulb.edu
Thu: 5:00pm-6:00pm, or after class;
Tue: 8:45am;
or by appointment
Amy Argento   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-210
Amy.Argento@csulb.edu
Mon & Tue: 7:45pm-8:45pm;
or by appointment
Angelica Gunderson   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-212
Angelica.Gunderson@csulb.edu
by appointment
David Harris   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-210
David.Harris@csulb.edu
Fri: 9:00am-12:00pm;
or by appointment
Laura Henriques Professor
562.985.1408
Office: HSCI-214
Laura.Henriques@csulb.edu

Dr. Henriques's Website
Tue: 4:30pm-5:00pm & 7:45pm-8:15pm;
Thu: 4:00pm-5:00pm;
or by appointment or drop-in: Meet with Dr. Henriques
Stephanie Heyer   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-212
Stephanie.Heyer@csulb.edu
by appointment
Tom Kelty Professor
562.985.4589
Office: HSCI-314
T.Kelty@csulb.edu
Mon & Wed: 11:00am-12:00pm
Tue: 12:30pm-1:30pm
or by appointment
Jim Kisiel Professor
562.985.1325
Office: HSCI-208
J.Kisiel@csulb.edu
Wed & Fri: 1:00pm-2:00pm
or by appointment
Alberto Lazaro   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-206
Alberto.Lazaro@csulb.edu
Tue & Thu: after class
or by appointment
Adrian Lucero   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-206
Adrian.Lucero@csulb.edu
by appointment
Lisa Marin & Lecturer
562.985.4801 Lisa.Marin@csulb.edu
by appointment
Myra Pasquier Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-212
Myra.Pasquier@csulb.edu
Thu: 7:00pm-8:00pm
or by appointment
Amy Ricketts Assistant Professor
562.985.5574
Office: HSCI-204
Amy.Ricketts@csulb.edu
By Appointment
Youngjin Song   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-210
Youngjin.Song@csulb.edu
by appointment
William Straits Professor
562.985.4725
Office: HSCI-202
W.Straits@csulb.edu
Thu: 10:00am-12:00pm
or by appointment
Jo Topps Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-212
Jo.Topps@csulb.edu
after class;
or by appointment

Student Teacher Supervisors

Name Photo Position & Contact Office Hours
Merlin Driggs Student Teacher Supervisor
Merlin.Driggs@csulb.edu
Via Email
Jackie Gallaway   Student Teacher Supervisor
Jacqueline.Gallaway@csulb.edu
Via Email
Dean Gilbert   Student Teacher Supervisor
Dean.Gilbert@csulb.edu
Via Email
Kurt Holland   Student Teacher Supervisor
Kurt.Holland@csulb.edu
Via Email
Mary Nowak Student Teacher Supervisor
Mary.Nowak@csulb.edu
Via Email
Rod Raschke   Student Teacher Supervisor
Rod.Raschke@csulb.edu
Via Email
Rod Ziolkowski   Student Teacher Supervisor

Rod.Ziolkowski@csulb.edu
Tue & Thu: before or after class;
or by appointment

Staff

Name Photo Position & Contact Office Hours
Jillian Bergamo   Department Coordinator
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-205
Jillian.Bergamo@csulb.edu
These hours available via Zoom:
Mon/Wed/Fri: 10:00am-12:00pm;
Tue/Thu: 3:30pm-5:00pm
Meet with Jillian via Zoom
Rick O'Connor   Department Coordinator
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-110
Rick.OConnor@csulb.edu