Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Science Education banner

Faculty and Staff

Faculty in the Science Education Department have distinguished themselves in numerous ways. They are sought after to work on major projects, they have received numerous grants, awards and they coordinate many projects at the local and national level. Learn more about their grants and projects.

You'll find contact information below for Science Education faculty and staff. For general information, contact the Science Education department office.

Chair and Program Advisors

Name Photo Position & Contact Office Hours
Lisa Martin Chair, Professor
562.985.5539
Office: HSCI-205
Lisa.Martin@csulb.edu
 
Kristin Straits   Science Credential Program Advisor, Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-218
Kristin.Straits@csulb.edu
Mon: 2:30pm-4:00pm (via Zoom conference)
Wed: 2:00pm-4:00pm
or By Appointment
Alan Colburn Graduate Program Advisor
562.985.5948
Office: HSCI-216
Alan.Colburn@csulb.edu

Dr. Colburn's Website
Immediately after class
or By Appointment

Faculty

Name Photo Position & Contact Office Hours
Tamara Araya Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-206
Tamara.Araya@csulb.edu
Mon: 3:45pm-4:45pm
or By Appointment
Amy Argento   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-210
Amy.Argento@csulb.edu
Tue: immediately after/before class
or By Appointment
Susan Gomez-Zwiep Professor
562.985.5574
Office: HSCI-204
Susan.GomezZwiep@csulb.edu
Mon: 3:00pm-4:00pm
Tue: 12:00pm-1:00pm (off campus)
Tue: 4:00pm-5:00pm
or By Appointment
Angelica Gunderson   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-212
Angelica.Gunderson@csulb.edu
Thu: immediately after/before class
David Harris   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-210
David.Harris@csulb.edu
Mon: 8:30am-9:30am
Wed: 8:30am-9:30am
or By Appointment
Laura Henriques Professor
562.985.1408
Office: HSCI-214
Laura.Henriques@csulb.edu

Dr. Henriques's Website
Thu: 4:00pm-5:00pm
or By Appointment
Stephanie Heyer   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-212
Stephanie.Heyer@csulb.edu
Tue: immediately after/before class
or By Appointment
Tom Kelty Professor
562.985.4589
Office: HSCI-314
T.Kelty@csulb.edu
Mon: 11:00am-12:00pm
Tue: 12:30pm-1:30pm
Wed: 11:00am-12:00pm
or By Appointment
Jim Kisiel Professor
562.985.1325
Office: HSCI-208
J.Kisiel@csulb.edu
Mon: 12:00pm-1:00pm
Tue: 12:30pm-1:30pm
or By Appointment
Alberto Lazaro   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-206
Alberto.Lazaro@csulb.edu
Tue: 11:00am-12:00pm and 3:30pm-4:30pm
Thu: 11:00am-12:00pm and 3:30pm-4:30pm
or By Appointment
Adrian Lucero   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-206
Adrian.Lucero@csulb.edu
Wed: immediately after/before class
or By Appointment
Myra Pasquier Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-212
Myra.Pasquier@csulb.edu
Mon: immediately after/before class
or By Appointment
Amy Ricketts Assistant Professor
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-205
Amy.Ricketts@csulb.edu
By Appointment
Youngjin Song   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-210
Youngjin.Song@csulb.edu
Tue: 10:00am-11:00am and 2:00pm-3:00pm
Thu: 10:00am-11:00am
or By Appointment
William Straits Professor
562.985.4725
Office: HSCI-202
W.Straits@csulb.edu
Immediately after class
or By appointment
Jo Topps Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-212
Jo.Topps@csulb.edu
Mon: 4:00pm-5:00pm
Carol Welsh Lecturer
562.985.5398
Office: HSCI-206
Carol.Welsh@csulb.edu
Tue: 3:30pm-4:45pm
Thu: 3:30pm-4:45pm

Student Teacher Supervisors

Name Photo Position & Contact Office Hours
Merlin Driggs Student Teacher Supervisor
Merlin.Driggs@csulb.edu
Via Email
Jackie Gallaway   Student Teacher Supervisor
Jacqueline.Gallaway@csulb.edu
Via Email
Dean Gilbert   Student Teacher Supervisor
Dean.Gilbert@csulb.edu
Via Email
Kurt Holland   Student Teacher Supervisor
Kurt.Holland@csulb.edu
Via Email
Mary Nowak Student Teacher Supervisor
Mary.Nowak@csulb.edu
Via Email
Rod Raschke   Student Teacher Supervisor
Rod.Raschke@csulb.edu
Via Email
Rod Ziolkowski   Student Teacher Supervisor

Rod.Ziolkowski@csulb.edu
Via Email

Staff

Name Photo Position & Contact Office Hours
Jillian Bergamo   Department Coordinator
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-205
Jillian.Bergamo@csulb.edu
 
Rick O'Connor   Department Coordinator
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-110
Rick.OConnor@csulb.edu