Come Meet and Greet Nancy Segovia! She is a Master of Public Health Candidate working on the USDA Sanos y Fuertes Project

Her Background: “I was born in the city of Whittier, California and grew up in the city of Fountain Valley till the age of 10. From then, my family and I moved to Huntington Beach. Both of my parents are from Mexico. My mom is from Tutuaca, Chihuahua, Mexico and my dad is from Abasolo, Durango, Mexico. The majority of my family lives in Mexico, but I have relatives that live in different states around the U.S. including: Illinois, California, Arizona, New Mexico, and Texas. Both of my parents come from large families, but I only have one younger sister. My last name has Spanish influence (I hope to one day visit the beautiful city of Segovia, Spain!!) Fun facts: 1. My paternal grandfather participated in the Bracero Program and 2. He [my dad’s father] told me that an inherited trait of Segovias are thick, dark eyebrows.”

Ultimate Dream Job or Career Goal: “Working for the Public Health Department (I am not sure specifically which one just yet). I hope that my future career involves impacting minority populations, specifically among Latinos, and advocating for their health and well being.”

 Research Interests: “Obesity prevention; Nutrition; Health disparities.”

 Favorite Hobbies: “Going to Disneyland; Going out to eat! Spending time outdoors, (i.e., beach; hiking; picnics at the park). Spending time with my family and my dog. Netflix.”

 Favorite superpower: “If I had a super power, it would have to be mind control–the ability to alter the perceptions of others and general ability to control the actions of others with the mind.”