Come Meet and Greet John Cabanatan! He is a Master of Public Health Candidate working on the PCORI/Latino Health Report Card Project.

 His Background: “Grew up in the City of Carson from 3 to 15 yrs old, then moved to the City of Norwalk from 15 to 20, moved back to Carson and currently living here now.  I was born in the Philppines and immigrated when I was 3 yrs old. I come from a small coast town of Olongapo City, Philippines. I’m an only child but I do have one step-sister and two half sisters. If you put our ages on a timeline I would be the second oldest child. All of my family members of my dad’s side migrated to the states. My biological mother and her family are still in the Philippines. My stepmother has family both in the States and the Philippines. My family is spread out all across the US and other countries, from California, Florida, Hawaii, New York, New Jersey, England, Canada, etc.”

 Ultimate Dream Job or Career Goal: “To obtain my doctorate, to become a professor at a Cal State or a University teaching behavioral health education classes.”

 Research Interests: “Diabetes, sports related injuries, concussions, fitness & nutrition, motivational learning & development, and interpersonal relationships among individuals and families.”

 Favorite Hobbies: “Power/Olympic lifting, muay thai, exploring new places (food, divebars, hangout locations, etc) I’m all about the vibe and ambiance of places I see and experiences. I love being outside and being one with nature, cooking, movies/Netflix, comics, board games, videogames, playing sports & go to sporting events (baseball, basketball, football, mix martial arts). Hangout with friends and family =)”

 Favorite superpower: “If I had a superpower, it would have to be the ability to read people’s minds like Professor Xavier or Jean Grey from X-Men. Or the ability of instant transmission like in Dragonball Z (teleport).”