the metallic cloudsDiane Wakoski
The Magellanic Clouds, 1968
6.75 x 7 inches
Courtesy of Diane Waksoki

installation view S.M.S.
Installation view

S.M.S.: An Archive of the 60s

March 11−April 18, 2010

S.M.S., the abbreviation for Shit Must Stop was a limited edition series of work created in 1968 by over eighty artists, including Yoko Ono, Joseph Kosuth, Meret Oppenheim, John Cage, Claes Oldenberg, and Marcel Duchamp. Using a variety of media, these boxed collections were mailed to subscribers every other month beginning in February 1968, with the objective of creating a personal experience with the objects. The collection of the University Art Museum at CSULB contains all six mailings from the series. This seminal body of work embodies the dissention of the art world during a time in the late 1960s when cultural norms were being challenged and broken down. Collectively, the works symbolize a monumental shift in thought—a reification of concepts. S.M.S. represented a route that diverged sharply from the authority of the institution, furthering the notion that art was to be experienced rather than worshiped.

Included in this exhibition are works by, Aftograf, William Anthony, Arman, Richard Artschwager, Enrico Baj, John Battan, Ed Bereal, Paul Bergtold, Wall Betterton, Su Braden, William Bryant, James Lee Byars, John Cage, Nicholas Calas, Christo, Congo, Bruce Conner, William Copley, Walter De Maria, Betty Dodson, Marcel Duchamp, Ronoldo Ferri, Edward Fitzgerald, Hollis Frampton, John Giorno, Richard Hamilton, Marcia Herscovitz, Dick Higgins, Alain Jacquet, Neil Jenney, Ray Johnson, On Kawara, Kasper Koening, Joseph Kosuth, Ronnie Landfield, Julien Levy, Roy Lichtenstein, Lee Lozano, Angus Maclise , Sol Mednick, Toby Mussman, Bruce Nauman, Adrian  Nutbeem, Claes Oldenburg, Yoko Ono, Meret Oppenheim, Roland Penrose, Mischa Petrov, Bernard Pfreim, Lil Picard, Man Ray, Mel Ramos, George Reavey, Jean Reavey, Nancy Reitkopf, Terry Riley, Robert Rohm, Diter Rot, Domenico Rotella, William Schwedler, Robert Stanley, Clovis Trouille, Bernar Venet, Diane Wakoski, Robert Watts, Hannah Weiner, Lawrence Weiner, H.C. Westermann, Princess Winifred, La Monte Young, and Marian Zazeela.


Under the direction of Nizan Shaked, head of Museum and Curatorial Studies, S.M.S. was curated and organized by Grace Chu, Sarah Finer, Tracy Gorden, Elizabeth Hanson, Denielle Johnson, and Seija Rohkea in partial requirement for the CSULB Graduate Program in Museum Studies.

uam logo
CSULB logotwitter facebook youtube tumblr icon PINTREST LOGO