California State University, Long Beach
Inside CSULB Logo

Special Olympics Southern California Summer Games At CSULB Through 2017

Published: June 15, 2015

Approaching nearly two decades as partners, CSULB and Special Olympics Southern California announced that the university will continue to serve as the host site for its Summer Games through 2017. The Summer Games is Special Olympics Southern California’s largest competition of the year and is free and open to the public.

“The Summer Games is such a unique and wonderful event that has been embraced by so many members of the Long Beach community each year, and we are thrilled that it will continue to take place at The Beach,” said CSULB President Jane Close Conoley. “We look forward to welcoming the thousands of athletes, their families and guests who truly embody the university’s ‘can do’ attitude.”

The Summer Games returned in 2015 (June 13-14) to CSULB, which had hosted the event every year from 1998-2013. This year’s event was the first non-CSULB athletics event to take place on the campus’ newly renovated track. The partnership with Special Olympics extends even farther as 57 current students or alumni from CSULB’s graduate program in sports management have gone on to internships or full-time employment with Special Olympics or Summer Games.

“I can’t think of a better and more hospitable environment to host the Summer Games than at Cal State Long Beach,” said Bill Shumard, president and CEO of Special Olympics Southern California and an alumnus of CSULB. “The university has been an incredible partner for almost 20 years, and we look forward to an even stronger relationship over the next several years.”

The 2015 Games featured competition in six sports—aquatics, athletics (track and field), basketball, bocce, golf and gymnastics—with more than 1,100 athletes and coaches coming from all over Southern California to participate in the competition. The event also hosted more than 2,000 volunteers, and 5,000 local dignitaries, sponsors and spectators.

–Mike Uhlenkamp