California State University, Long Beach
Inside CSULB Logo

CSULB Takes Commissioner’s Cup For Fifth Straight Season

Published: June 15, 2015

CSULB held off UC Davis to capture its fifth straight Big West Commissioner’s Cup, given annually to the most successful athletics program in the Big West. The Beach won titles in women’s volleyball, women’s tennis and men’s track and field to pace its way to the school’s sixth Commissioner’s Cup triumph in the last seven years.

With points awarded on the basis of regular season finishes, CSULB had three championships and finished in the top four in 10 of 14 sports, finishing with a point average of 117.1, besting second-place UC Davis’ 111.9 point average to clinch the cup.

“Sustaining success is a tribute to our coaches and staff, but also university administration and the community of Long Beach,” said CSULB athletics director Vic Cegles, who was named a 2014-15 I-AAA Under Armour Athletics Director of the Year. “We have a terrific team committed to academics and athletics excellence.”

In addition to the three Beach championships, CSULB had top four finishes in men’s cross country, women’s soccer, men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s golf and softball, and finished lower than sixth place in just one sport.

The five-year run marks the continuance of a changing of the guard in the Big West. Over the 16 years that the Commissioner’s Cup has been awarded, only three schools have won the honor, with Pacific winning the first two championships and UC Santa Barbara and CSULB splitting the championships ever since. The run also matches the longest of any school, as UCSB won the cup five years in a row from 2000-05.

CSULB’s first Commissioner’s Cup championship in 2005-06 snapped that run, however, and it has not looked back, winning the cup seven of the last 10 years.

Final Big West Commissioner’s Cup standings:

1. CSULB (14) – 117.1
2. UC Davis (16) – 111.9
3. UC Santa Barbara (15) – 106.7
4. Cal Poly (15) – 94.7
5. UC Irivne (15) – 94.0
6. Hawaii (13) – 92.3
7. CSUN (15) – 92.0
8. UC Riverside (15) – 82.0
9. CS Fullerton (14) – 80.0
Parentheses indicate championships competed