California State University, Long Beach
Inside CSULB Logo

2015 University Achievement Awards On April 22

Published: April 15, 2015

The 2015 University Achievement Awards and Celebration of Instruction, Research, Creative Activity and Service, will be held Wednesday, April 22, from 3-7 p.m., at The Pointe in the Walter Pyramid.

The event will feature displays from student and faculty research and creative work from 3-7 p.m. with the University Achievement Awards ceremony beginning at 5 p.m. There will be hors d’oeuvres and a no-host bar from 5-7 p.m.

Join President Jane Close Conoley, Provost David Dowell and Academic Senate Chair Praveen Soni in honoring the following members of the campus community.

• Outstanding Professor: Henry Yeh, electrical engineering

• Outstanding Staff Member: Anne Ambrose, marketing and communications

• Distinguished Faculty Scholarly and Creative Achievement Awards: Betty McMicken, speech-language pathology and Leslie Reese, teacher education

• Impact Accomplishment of the Year in Research, Scholarly and Creative Activity: Ezra LeBank, theatre arts

    • Outstanding Faculty Mentor for Student Engagement in Research, Scholarly and Creative Activity: Praveen Shankar, mechanical and aerospace engineering

    • Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award: Jen-Mei Chang, mathematics and statistics

    • Distinguished Faculty Advising Award: Joanne Conley, recreation and leisure Studies

    • Early Academic Career Excellence Award: Selena Nguyen-Rodriguez, health science and Shadnaz Asgari, computer engineering and computer science

    • Faculty Community Service Award: Judy Green, social work

    • Alumni Community Service Award: Philip Orland, recreation ’83

    • Outstanding Graduate Research Student Award: Alireza Ameri Daragheh, electrical engineering

–Shayne Schroeder