California State University, Long Beach
Inside CSULB Logo

2013 University Achievement Awards To Be Held April 18

Published: April 15, 2013

The 2013 University Achievement Awards and Celebration of Instruction, Research, Creative Activity and Service, will be held Thursday, April 18, from 3 to 7 p.m., at The Pointe in the Walter Pyramid.

The event will feature displays from student and faculty research and creative work from 3 to 7 p.m. with the University Achievement Awards ceremony beginning at 5 p.m.

The 2013 award recipients include:

Nicholas Perkins Hardeman Academic Leadership Award: Jalal Torabzadeh, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Outstanding Professor: Britt Rios-Ellis, Health Science and NCLR/CSULB Center for Latino Community Health, Evaluation and Leadership Training

Outstanding Staff Member: Sherry Pawneshing, Physical Planning and Facilities Management

Distinguished Faculty Scholarly and Creative Achievement Award: Young-Seok Shon, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Academic Affairs’ Awards for Impact Accomplishment of the Year in Research, Scholarly and Creative Activity: Kevin Malotte, Center for Health Care Innovation

Academic Affairs’ Award for Outstanding Faculty Mentor for Student Engagement in Research, Scholarly and Creative Activity: Editte Gharakhanian, Biological Sciences

Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award: Susanna Speirs Ali, School of Art

Distinguished Faculty Advising Award: Lauren Rauscher, Human Development

Early Academic Career Excellence Award: Savitri W. Singh-Carlson, Nursing

Community Service Award Faculty: Maria Claver, Family and Consumer Sciences

Community Service Award Student: Tony Hoang, Communication Studies

Community Service Award Staff: Mary Anne Rose, Education

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Student Award: Tamara McCarty, Dance

Outstanding Graduate Research Student Awards: Sarah Grefe, Physics and Astronomy; and Shahab Taherian, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering