California State University, Long Beach
Inside CSULB Logo

Vice President Robinson Among 2011 Hall Of Fame Inductees

Published: November 1, 2011

CSULB will honor eight former players, a team and an administrator with induction into the athletic department’s Hall of Fame on Wednesday, Nov. 9, at 6 p.m. at the Hilton Long Beach Hotel and Executive Meeting Center.

Among those being honored as part of The Class of 2011 will be CSULB Vice President for Student Services Doug Robinson (administrator), along with current Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim pitcher Jered Weaver, Meredith Cervenka (softball), Le’Gretta Smith (Hinds, track and field), Alan Knipe (men’s volleyball), Margaret Mohr (women’s basketball), Peter Smith (men’s tennis), Mark Templeton (football), Cheryl Weaver (women’s volleyball) and the 1989 women’s volleyball national championship team.

“It is very important for us to acknowledge our great athletic history and these 49ers rank among the all-time greats,” Long Beach State Director of Athletics Vic Cegles said. “We are excited to welcome them back to Long Beach State and into the hall of fame.”

The 2011 class ranks as one of the largest classes in hall of fame history and will bring the total number of inductees to 202.

For full biographies on this year’s inductees, visit the 49er Athletics website.

Tickets for the events are $75 per person or $750 for a table of 10. For more information, call 562/985-4662.