California State University, Long Beach
Inside CSULB Logo

University Achievement Awards will Honor 22 on May 19

Published: May 15, 2009

Twenty-two members of the CSULB community will be honored for outstanding work at the University Achievement Awards Tuesday, May 19, from 4-6 p.m. at The Pointe in The Walter Pyramid.

The University Achievement Awards are among the highest honors the university bestows upon its faculty and staff. At the awards ceremony Academic Senate Chair Praveen Soni will be presented with the Nicholas Perkins Hardeman Award, Marine Biology Professor Chris Lowe will receive the Outstanding Professor Award and Staff Human Resources Training Coordinator Berta Hanson will be given the Outstanding Staff Award.

In addition, five other awards will also be presented, including two new honors – the Early Career Excellence Award and the Distinguished Faculty Advising Award. Recipients are:

Distinguished Faculty Scholarly and Creative Achievement
Xianhui Bu, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Dennis Fisher, Center for Behavioral Research and Services
Karen Clippinger, Dance
Henry Yeh, Electrical Engineering
Victor Wang, Professional Studies

Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award
Burkhard Englert, Computer Engineering and Computer Science
Anastasios Chassiakos, Electrical Engineering
Elizabeth McEneaney, Sociology
Sharlene Sayegh, History
Kelly Young, Biological Sciences

Early Career Excellence Award
Babette Benken, Mathematics and Statistics
Cara Richards, Advanced Studies in Education and Counseling
Kim-Phuong Vu, Psychology

Distinguished Faculty Advising Award
Virginia Binder, Psychology
Laura Henriques, Science Education
Thomas Rhoads, Legal Studies in Business Program

Community Service Award
Julie O’Donnell (Faculty), Social Work
Mark Zakhour (Staff), Physical Planning and Facilities Management
Annette Quintero (Student), Geographic Information Systems

This event is open to the campus community. No R.S.V.P. is necessary.