Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Research at the Beach | CSULB Research Newsletter
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font

Achievement Awards Honors Faculty, Students for Research, Creative Activity

On Wednesday, April 22, 13 members of the campus community will be honored at the University Achievement Awards for outstanding achievement in teaching, advising, research, scholarly and creative activity and service.

Five awards will be given specifically for work in research, scholarly and creative activity.

  • Dr. Betty McMicken (Speech-Language Pathology) and Dr. Leslie Reese (Teacher Education) will receive Distinguished Faculty Scholarly and Creative Achievement Awards.
  • Ezra LeBank (Theatre Arts) will be presented with the Impact Accomplishment of the Year in Research, Scholarly and Creative Activity.
  • Dr. Praveen Shankar (Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering) will be honored for his work mentoring students in research. Outstanding Faculty Mentor for Student Engagement in Research, Scholarly and Creative Activity.
  • The Outstanding Graduate Research Student Award will be awarded to Alireza Ameri Daragheh (Electrical Engineering).

Faculty, staff and students are invited to attend the event at The Pointe in the Walter Pyramid. Doors open at 3 pm with faculty and student research on display. The awards ceremony will take place at 4 pm and hors d’oeuvres and no-host bar will be available at 5 pm.

Other awards being presented include the following:

  • Early Academic Career Excellence Award going to Dr. Selena Nguyen-Rodriguez (Health Science) and Dr. Shadnaz Asgari (Computer Engineering & Computer Science);
  • Outstanding Professor Award being presented to Dr. Henry Yeh (Electrical Engineering)
  • Outstanding Staff Award going to Anne Ambrose in Marketing and Communication
  • Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award going to Dr. Jen-Mei Chang (Mathematics & Statistics)
  • Distinguished Faculty Advising Award being given to Joanne Conley (Recreation & Leisure Studies)
  • Faculty Community Service Award being given to Judy Green (Social Work)
  • Alumni Community Service Award being presented to Phillip Orland, Recreation ’83

Announcements | Research @ the Beach