Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font

Student Success

2013 Academic Affairs Annual Report

Our students arrive trusting us to provide a valuable education that will lead toward a better life.  By the time they graduate they have gained an increased appreciation of arts, sciences, and societies, and are well prepared to begin their careers or continue their education.  The accolades they obtain along the way are remarkable. We are immensely proud of the many awards and recognitions our students received in 2012-13.

  •   Beautiful Love - Pacific Standard Time
    Pacific Standard Time was named Best Large Vocal Jazz Ensemble in the DownBeat Magazine Student Music Awards.  Miko Shudo, a member of Pacific Standard Time, was awarded Outstanding Performance for Undergraduate Vocal Jazz Soloist and instrumentalist and composer Brendan Doshi was awarded the top prize in the Outstanding Graduate Original Composition – Lead Sheet category for his tune titled “Vulture.”
  • Designs by three CSULB students – Ian Chambers, Shelby Connich and Imaan Naeem – were chosen among the top 50 entries in a competition to create a moveable chair for New York City's Battery Park.
  • Graphic design students Amanda Madden, Anthony Martinez and Allie Wong won third place in Disney Imagineering’s 22nd ImagiNations Design Competition for their concept, “Disney’s Holmby Martin Railway,” a four-day train trip from Chicago to California.
  • Carole Jacobs, a flute performance major, captured top honors at the Orange County Youth Symphony Orchestra (OCYSO) Concerto Competition.
  • Amy Gordon
    Amy Gordon

    Amy Gordon, a graduate student in the Bob Cole Conservatory of Music, was named one of five finalists in the pop music category of the 2012 SongDoor International Songwriting Competition.
  • The Bob Cole Conservatory’s trumpet ensemble earned third-place honors at the 2013 National Trumpet Competition.
  • Music student Anthony Moreno earned the Encouragement Award at the Western Regional Finals of the Metropolitan Opera National Council Auditions.
  • Three industrial design students—J. Scott Lee, Prisca Bae and Sam Sauceda—were awarded second place at the 2012 International E-Waste Design Competition for their concept, “E3: Energy Efficient Electricity,” a home monitoring and manually controllable energy system.
  • Interior Design students Alice Huang and Eric Yates received an honorable mention in the 2012-13 PAVE the Way 3D Design Challenge for the functional headphone fixture they designed and created.
  • CBA student Alexander Santamaria, with teammate Paras Goswami, won the university’s Innovation Challenge with the creation of a textbook trading website, Engineering students Emanuelle Galvan, Ryan Panella and Erik Renteria were finalists in the competition.

    International Collegiate Business Strategy Competition Students
    College of Business Administration students at the International Collegiate Business Strategy Competition

  • At the International Collegiate Business Strategy Competition (ICBSC) hosted by the College of Business Administration, a team of CBA undergraduate students won the first place “Best Documents” trophy and an MBA team won both the first place “Best Documents” trophy and a second runner-up “Overall Performance” trophy.
  • Eighteen students from the American Marketing Association (AMA) brought home 13 awards, including Best Overall Chapter Exhibit, and were named among the Top 25 Chapters at the AMA International Collegiate Conference.
  • The Beta Alpha Psi honorary student organization in Accounting was recognized internationally as a superior chapter for their efforts during 2011-12.
  • The White House and the President’s Advisory Commission on Educational Excellence for Hispanics recently honored teacher and CSULB alumna Sylvia Padilla, for her efforts to improve student outcomes and close the academic achievement gap for her students.

Natalie Whitlock
Natalie Whitlock

  • Master of Science in Health Care Administration graduate Natalie Whitlock became the first CSULB student to receive the competitive Southern California Kaiser Permanente Fellowship.
  • Sierra Yancey, a Hospitality Foodservice, Hotel Management major, was selected for a Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities (HACU) internship at the Gresham-Barlow School District in Oregon.
  • Thirty-four seniors and 21 juniors showcased their designs at the 25th CSULB Campus Couture Fashion Show, which is considered the largest event of its kind planned, developed and executed by students on the West Coast.
  • The Minority Americans in Engineering and Science student chapter, won first place in the highly competitive Academic Decathlon and was also named the organization's "Chapter of the Year" at a national symposium.
  • Sabrina Rivera, who graduated in May, was named a finalist in the American Society of Civil Engineers 2013 New Faces of Civil Engineering – College Edition.
  • Jeremy Bonifacio, a Ph.D. student in the joint doctorate program, was selected as the METRANS 2012 Outstanding Student of the Year.
  • Society of Automotive Engineers
    The Society of Automotive Engineers built and raced their formula race car in 2012-13.

    The Society of Automotive Engineers ranked 36 out of 80 teams this summer in the Formula SAE chapter of the Collegiate Design Series, a competition that pits the race car they designed and built against cars from other teams.
  • Psychology student Adria Bonillas and political science student Kris Biakanja captured top honors at the American Collegiate Moot Court Association’s Western Regional Finals and advanced to the national competition.
  • Political Science graduate John Sellers was selected for the Congressional Internship Program sponsored by the Panetta Institute for Public Policy.  He spent 11 weeks in the nation’s capital working full-time in the office of a California member of the U.S. House of Representatives.
  • Students Andrew Jackman and John Oney both earned the “Outstanding Delegate” award at the Bonn International Model U.N. Conference in Germany.
  • Physics graduate student Sam Koshy obtained, for the second time, a NASA Graduate Student Award. He was the only student from a non-Ph.D. granting University to obtain this award in 2012.
  • The Society of Physics Students Chapter was named an Outstanding 2012 Chapter for its efforts to encourage students to think about physics in daily life and reach out across campus to join other student organizations.
  • A group of eight students were selected for their leadership skills to attend a special invitation-only conference in Sacramento for math-based majors. Rickeisha Brown, Andrea Calderon, Sandra Labib, Danielle Locklin, Christopher Norwood, Tesheena Parks, Steven Reid and Cythina Sanchez participated in the event, which gave them a chance to interact extensively with science, technology, engineering and mathematics professionals currently working in industry.