CSU Academic Senate

Preserved and encouraged under the Higher Education Employer-Employee Act (HEERA) of 1978, the Academic Senate of The California State University serves as the official voice of the faculty of the CSU in matters of system wide concern. The Academic Senate CSU generally meets five times per year, its plenary sessions scheduled in advance of meetings of the Board of Trustees. Academic Senate CSU recommendations concerning system wide policies are channeled to or through the Chancellor. CSULB has four representatives to the Academic Senate, CSU. The representatives are elected in an all-University election and serve three-year terms.


CSULB Academic Senate

On the local level, the Academic Senate of California State University, Long Beach is the duly appointed representative body of the faculty. Concerning itself with many needs of the University, the Academic Senate develops policy subject to the approval of the President. The Academic Senate also serves as a communications link between the faculty and the administration of the University. The Academic Senate is a full-University Senate which includes full-time tenured and probationary faculty, librarians, student services professionals--academic related, lecturers, emeritus representative, administration, staff, and students. Representatives are elected by their constituencies for staggered three-year terms.

The Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, and two members-at-large, all elected by the Senate, constitute the voting membership of the Executive Committee of the Academic Senate. The representatives to the Academic Senate CSU, the President of the University, the Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, the Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of Graduate Studies, the Vice President for Administration and Finance, and the Immediate-Past Chair of the Academic Senate, serve as ex officio, non-voting members. The specific charge to the Executive Committee is contained in the document entitled "Rules and Regulations of the Academic Senate."