ACADEMIC SENATE 2018-19 Minutes

ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

Thursday, May 3, 2018, 2:00 - 2:30 pm Towner Auditorium (PSY 150)

- 1. CALL TO ORDER
- 2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA- approved
- 3. WELCOME OF NEW SENATORS- introduction of new Senators:
 - Ryan Taber-Art, COTA
 - Jeff Atherton-Art, COTA
 - T Zhou, Math and Statistics, CNSM
 - Joshua Sack, Math, CNSM
 - Luke Wagner, SOC, IST, CLA
 - Moni Simeonov, Music, COTA
 - Kris Zentgraf, Sociology, CLA
 - Jennifer Reed, WGSS, CLA
- 4. ELECTION OF CHAIR- Vote Y=47 N=2 Norbert Schürer elected Chair
 - Each candidate will be allowed 60 seconds to make a statement.
- 5. ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR- Y=45 N=2 Jessica Pandya elected Vice Chair
 - Each candidate will be allowed 60 seconds to make a statement.
- 6. ELECTION OF SECRETARY- nominations from the floor Ryan Fisher nominates Jeff Jarvis, seconded. Voting Y=50 N=1 **Jeff Jarvis elected Secretary**
 - Each candidate will be allowed 60 seconds to make a statement.
- 7. SEQUENTIAL ELECTION OF **FOUR** MEMBERS AT LARGE OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE.
 - Each candidate will be allowed 60 seconds to make a statement.
 - The four at-large members of the Executive Committee are elected sequentially, i.e., *first* we elect at-large member #1, *then* at-large member #2, *then* at-large member #3, and *finally* at-large member #4.
 - In each of those four elections, we take nominations from the floor and then vote on those nominees. (If there are five or fewer nominees we can vote by clicker; if there are six or more nominees we will have a paper ballot.)
 - Then, two things can happen:
 - Either one nominee receives at least 50% + 1 of the votes cast (abstentions do not count either way). In that case, that nominee is elected and we proceed to the next election.
 - Or no nominee receives at least 50% + 1 of the votes cast. In that case, the nominee with the lowest number of votes is dropped from the ballot and we vote again on the remaining nominees.
 - Then (again), either one nominee is elected with at least 50% + 1 of the votes cast, or the nominee with the lowest number of votes is dropped from the ballot and we vote again—until one nominee has a majority of votes cast.

• For the next election of a member at large, any nominee from the previous election can be nominated again. However, that nomination is not automatic, but must be named. Then, we go through the whole process again.

Member at large #1	Vote 1	Vote 2	Vote 3	Vote 4
A-Chris Warren	4			
B-Chris Brazier	11	12	14	
C-Misty Jaffe	10	10		
D-Nancy Meyers-Adams	14	14	17	28
E-Neil Hultgren	16	20	22	26
Red indicates eliminated	55	56	53	54

Member at large #2	Vote 1	Vote 2	Vote 3	Vote 4
A-Neil Hultgren	21	24	25	30
B-Chris Brazier	14	12	17	23
C-Misty Jaffe	4	5		
D- Chris Warren	3			
E- Pei Fang Hung	11	12	11	·
	53	53	53	53

Elected

Elected

				_
Member at large #3	Vote 1	Vote 2	Vote 3	
A- Chris Brazier	15	22	28	Ele
B-Pei Fang Hung	11			
C-Elizabeth Guzik	17	23	25	
D-Misty Jaffe	12	9		
	55	54	53	

Elected

Member at large #4	Vote 1	Vote 2	
A-Elizabeth Guzik	20	34	
B-Misty Jaffe	16	21	
C-Pei Fang Hung	14		
	50	55	

Elected

8. ELECTION/CONFIRMATION OF COLLEGE/UNIT REPRESENTATIVES TO THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE

- One senator from each academic college (two from College of Liberal Arts), one senator from the library, one senator from Counseling and Psychological Services, and one lecturer senator. All elected by affirmation "cheese"
- A- Christine Scott Howard=CHHS
- B- Flora Banuett-CNSM
- C-Greg Armento Library

- D- Praveen Shankar COE
- E-Chalin Cummings CBA
- F- Kirstyn Chun CAPS
- G-Parvina Shariat COE –lecturer
- H Alicia del Campo CLA
- I- Chris Warren CLA
- 9. ADJOURNMENT