Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
2013-2014 CSULB University Catalog

The California State University

CSU Information

The individual California State Colleges were brought together as a system by the Donahoe Higher Education Act of 1960. In 1972, the system became the California State University and Colleges, and in 1982 the system became the California State University (CSU). Today, the campuses of the CSU include comprehensive and polytechnic universities and, since July 1995, the California Maritime Academy, a specialized campus.

The oldest campus — San José State University — was founded in 1857 and became the first institution of public higher education in California. The newest — CSU Channel Islands — opened in fall 2002, with freshmen arriving in fall 2003.

Responsibility for the California State University is vested in the Board of Trustees, whose members are appointed by the Governor. The Trustees appoint the Chancellor, who is the chief executive officer of the system, and the Presidents, who are the chief executive officers of the respective campuses.

The Trustees, the Chancellor, and the Presidents develop systemwide policy, with implementation at the campus level taking place through broadly based consultative procedures. The Academic Senate of the CSU, made up of elected representatives of the faculty from each campus, recommends academic policy to the Board of Trustees through the Chancellor.

Academic excellence has been achieved by the CSU through a distinguished faculty whose primary responsibility is superior teaching. While each campus in the system has its own unique geographic and curricular character, all campuses, as multipurpose institutions, offer undergraduate and graduate instruction for professional and occupational goals as well as broad liberal education. All campuses require a basic program of "General Education Requirements" for graduation regardless of the type of bachelor's degree or major field selected by the student.

The CSU offers high-quality, affordable bachelor's and master's level degree programs. Many of these programs are offered so that students can complete all upper-division and graduate requirements by part-time, late afternoon, and evening study. In addition, a variety of teaching and school service credential programs are available. A limited number of doctoral degrees are offered jointly with the University of California and with private institutions in California. In 2005, the CSU was authorized to independently offer educational doctorate (Ed.D.) programs.

Enrollment in fall 2011 totaled 427,000 students, who were taught by more than 21,000 faculty. The system awards about half of the bachelor's degrees and a third of the master's degrees granted in California. More than 2.7 million students have graduated from CSU campuses since 1961.

A recent economic report found that the CSU supports more than 150,000 jobs statewide, annually. The engine driving job creation is more than $17 billion in economic activity that directly results from CSU- related spending that generates $5.43 for every dollar the state invests. For more information, please see

Office of the Chancellor

Dr. Timothy P. White Chancellor – CSU System
Dr. Benjamin F. Quillian Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer
Dr. Ephraim P. Smith Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Academic Officer
Mr. Garrett P. Ashley Vice Chancellor, University Relations and Advancement
Ms. Gail E. Brooks Vice Chancellor, Human Resources
Ms. Christine Helwick General Counsel
Mr. Larry Mandel University Auditor

Chancellor's Office
401 Golden Shore
Long Beach, California, 90802‑4210
(562) 951-4000

Trustees of the California State University

Ex Officio Trustees

The Honorable Edmund G. Brown, Jr. Governor of California
The Honorable Gavin Newsom Lieutenant Governor of California
The Honorable John Pérez Speaker of the Assembly
The Honorable Tom Torlakson State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Dr. Timothy P. White Chancellor of The California State University

Officers of the Trustees

The Honorable Edmund G. Brown, Jr. President
Bob Linscheid Vice Chair
Christine Helwick Secretary
Dr. Benjamin F. Quillian Treasurer

Appointed Trustees

Appointments are for a term of eight years, except student, alumni, and faculty trustees whose terms are for two years. Terms expire in the year in parentheses. Names are listed alphabetically.

Appointed Trustees Term Expiration
Roberta Achtenberg (2015)
Bernadette Cheyne (2013)
Rebecca Eisen (2020)
Debra S. Farar (2014)
Kenneth Fong (2013)
Margaret Fortune (2016)
Lupe Garcia (2020)
Steven Glazer (2019)
William Hauck (2017)
Bob Linscheid (2012)
Peter Mehas (2015)
Henry Mendoza (2016)
Lou Monville (2014)
Hugo Morales (2020)
Larry Norton (2020)
Jillian Ruddell (2013)
Glen Toney (2013)
Cipriano Vargas (2014)

Correspondence with Trustees should be sent to:

c/o Trustees Secretariat
The California State University
401 Golden Shore
Long Beach, California 90802-4210

Print this page Add this page to your favorites Select a font size Select a small font Select a medium font Select a large font

Campus Information