Click the Online Rooms link on your navbar.
If you do not have the Online Rooms link in your navbar, you can edit the Navbar to include the Online Rooms tool. (See Navigation for more information.)
Rooms are managed using the Rooms page. From the Rooms page you can join rooms, add rooms, edit active rooms, and delete rooms. Once users join a room, they can watch presentations, share resources, and communicate interactively.
You can add new rooms to any course. However, rooms are only visible within their own course and cannot be shared across courses, sections, or groups.
When you add a room, you automatically become the moderator for that room. Once you add other attendees, you can change your role or delete yourself from the room. Note: Attendees (besides the creator) must be added manually.
To add a room:
Note: You cannot edit these dates once the room is active.
|Attendees raise their hand on entry||Select this check box if you want attendees to automatically raise their hand and produce an audible notification when entering the room.|
|All attendees join as Moderators||Select this check box if you want all attendees to join the room with the Moderator role.|
|Participants have unrestricted access to resources||Select this check box to grant participants access to resources, such as the whiteboard.|
|Moderators can view all private chats||Select this check box to allow Moderators to view all private chat messages in the room.|
Note: Attendees (besides the creator of the room) must be added manually. If a user is not added as an attendee, they cannot access the room. See Adding and Managing Attendees for additional information on adding attendees.
You can edit all properties of a room with a start date that has not passed. When a room is active you can edit its general and advanced properties, but you cannot edit its availability. Once a room’s end date passes, you can no longer edit that room.
From the Edit Room page, you can also add or remove Attendees.
To edit a room:
When you delete a room, attendees lose access to the room and its associated archives. Archives are still accessible if their visibility is set to public or users have the Manage Archives permission.
To delete a room:
On the Rooms List page, click the space beside the room you want to delete and click Delete Room.
To delete multiple rooms:
Check the boxes next to each room you want to delete, and then click the Delete button.
Online room roles determine the types of things users can do inside an online room; they do not correspond to roles in BeachBoard. Unless you select the All attendees join as Moderators check box under a room’s Advanced Properties, the role listed beside an attendee is the role users receive when they enter the room. You can also change that role inside a room during a session, but that change only lasts until the end of the session.
There are two roles that attendees can have:
When you add a room, you automatically become the moderator for that room. Once you add other attendees, you can change your role or delete yourself from the room.
Attendees are users who have access to a room. Each room has its own list of attendees, and the room’s creator must add each attendee. There are two types of attendees:
A Moderator must manually send an email invitation to external attendees notifying them that they can join a room.
Only Moderators can add attendees.
You can also search for specific users using the Search field.
Note: To automatically send an email notification to each external attendee, ensure that the Send email notification to all attendees who are configured to receive email option is enabled. This check box is located directly above the attendees section when editing a room.
Once you add attendees to a room, you can edit their roles from the Attendees panel. Only Moderators can edit attendees’ roles.
Deleting attendees removes them from the attendee list for the room; they can no longer enter the room or see its archives if the archives are restricted.
If you delete attendees currently inside a room, the action does not remove them from the room. To remove an attendee from the current session, you have to enter the room.
If you want to remove attendees from the current session and stop them from returning, delete them from the attendee list before removing them from the room, otherwise they might re-enter the room before you can delete them from the attendee list.
Note: Within a session, you cannot remove attendees with the moderator online room role.
Users must be moderators to edit and delete.
To delete attendees:
To enter a room, click on the room's Join Room button.
Once you click on Join Room, Firefox should open the page "Launching Blackboard Collaborate" in a new tab/window.
Click OK when the file action box appears.
Wait for the room to fully load.
Once you click on Join Room, Internet Explorer will likely block the pop-up and prompt you to either to "Allow once" or set "Options for this site" for pop-ups. You can either click "Allow once" or set the option to always allow pop-ups from BeachBoard.
Click on the hyperlink for the room once more. Internet Explorer should open the Launching Blackboard Collaborate page in a new tab/window. Click Open when Internet Explorer prompts you to Open, Save, or Cancel, the file.
Wait for the room to fully load.
Note: If you are using Safari, you must disable the pop-up blocker first, as it will not even display the pop-up blocker message that Internet Explorer does.
If the room does not load, there are a few things to check. First, try using Firefox, as other browsers' pop-up blockers can prevent the room from opening. Second, make sure you do not have Skype running in the background as it can disrupt Collaborate. Third, check your Java. If you have Java 7 and the you see the purple Blackboard Collaborate page but the room never loads, try uninstalling Java 7 and reinstalling Java 6.
If you are using a Mac, you will need to download the Blackboard Collaborate Launcher, which will be used instead of Java to launch the room. You should be prompted to download the Launcher when you click on the hyperlink for a room. If so, use these step-by-step instructions to download and use the Launcher. If not, use this link to download it directly.
Archives are recordings made in a room. Since archives occur in the past, you cannot change their properties and attendee lists. However, you can edit their visibility, which determines whether an archive is available to all users in the course/organization or is restricted to just the attendees.
Click the space to the right of the room whose archive you would like to view, and click View Archives.
Attendees can click on an archive's name to passively view it, but can never join the room in an interactive way. If you were listed as an attendee for a room, possess advanced permissions, or if an archive is public, its name appears as a link on your Archive page. To view an archive, simply click on its name.
Users require the Manage Archives permission to edit archive visibility.
To edit an archive
Users require the Manage Archives permission to delete archived rooms.
On the Archive tab, click the trash can icon under the Action column across from the archive you would like to delete.
For links to Collaborate documentation and User Guides, see our page on Collaborate. Orientation sessions and quick reference guides on how to use Collaborate are also available on the Blackboard Collaborate website (scroll down to Documentation and Recorded Training).
In addition to this documentation and Help Pages, we have many support options available. Please contact us with any questions or concerns that you have regarding Collaborate, whether you are a student or instructor.
Our office is located in AS 120 and we are open for drop-in or appointments from 8am - 6pm M thru Th, and 8am - 5pm F during the spring, summer, and fall semesters. We are open 8am - 5pm M thru F during the winter semester. Feel free to email us at ITSS as well.