The System Scheme is initially set as the default attendance scheme for all org units. As you create new schemes, depending on your permissions, you can change the default schemes for your courses as you see fit.
The default scheme is automatically inserted as the active selection in the Attendance Scheme drop-down menu when creating a new attendance register. If you delete your course’s default scheme then the organization’s default scheme automatically becomes the course’s default scheme.
Important: If you change the default attendance scheme, data from the previous scheme is lost. Ensure that your attendance data is no longer needed, or that there is no existing attendance data, prior to changing the associated attendance scheme.