Ryan Brown has several Premieres

Alumnus Ryan Brown’s work I Heard Bells from my Rotating House had its premiere performed by ZOFO duet in Berkeley. He also had Pipsqueak for solo piano, written for the Renee B. Fisher Piano Competition in New Haven premiered, and a large work performed by the Urban Playground Chamber Orchestra and dance at Queens College.  The Urban Playground Chamber Orchestra, a collection of musicians from the greater New York City area, collaborates anywhere, anytime, and with anyone. And his work “Bone,” commissioned by the Volti’s Choral Arts Competition, will be premiered May 16 and 17 at Z Space in San Francisco.

photo credit: Lenny Gonzalez

Ryan Brown Gets Rave Review

The Examiner.com gave alumnus Ryan Brown a lengthy rave review of his new work for the piano duet ZOFU. After comparing the piece to Stockhausen’s “Zyklus,” the article explains, “I Heard Bells from my Rotating House” on the other hand, seems to have been composed with the “external” listener in mind. The image of different bells surrounding the rotating house is formed strictly in the mind of the attentive listener. What is important, however, is the way in which Brown provides that listener with cues indicating that the house is in motion. The result is intriguing without ever sounding excessively contrived; and ZOFO’s execution provides a clear account of those cues, even within the somewhat limited context of streaming video. You can hear the piece here.

Photo credit: Lenny Gonzalez

Raymond Torres-Santos “Jubilum” Premiered

Organist Andrés Mojica gave the world premiere of Dr. Raymond Torres-Santos’s organ concert piece, Jubilum, in a sold out concert at the University Theater of the Puerto Rico University in San Juan. The concert included works from the standard organ repertoire by Bach, Mendelssohn and Widor. Dr. Torres-Santoaddressed the public in a pre-concert talk about the work. Subsequent concerts of the work include those at the University of Kansas in December 2, 2015 and the Methuen Memorial Hall in Massachusetts in June 15, 2016.

Alumni at Tanglewood

Alumni Alyssa Wills and Simon Barrad shared the stage in a production of Britten’s “Albert Herring” in Seiji Ozawa Hall at Tanglewood. They also participated in the world premiere of David Lang’s Where you go for 12 solo voices.

Alex Miller’s 88 MPH for Magnetic Resonator Piano Premiered

Lecturer Alex Miller’s composition 88 MPH was premiered by Piano Sphere Satellite Series Pianist Nic Gerpe on the People Inside Electronics concert series in Pasadena last weekend.  The composition, inspired by the ‘Back to the Future’ movies, is for the Magnetic Resonator Piano. This instrument, invented by composer/engineer Andrew McPherson, uses electro-magnets inside a traditional grand piano to augment the timbral possibilities of the instrument and create numerous new effects.

Dave Gerhart Premieres Work for Solo Steelpan

Dave Gerhart was the featured soloist in a benefit concert for the Chicago Youth Symphony Orchestra’s Steel Orchestra Program at the University of Chicago. Dr. Gerhart premiered “Passageways” for solo steelpan and percussion ensemble by Baljinder Sekhon. The premiere was part of a consortium of 44 steel drum performers and educators that Dr. Gerhart organized.

Dave Gerhart Premieres Work with Chicago Youth Symphony

Dave Gerhart will  premiere a piece by Baljinder Sekhon with the Chicago Youth Symphony Orchestra Percussion Ensemble on March 28, 2015. Dave organized a consortium commission to fund the work for steel drum and percussion ensemble.  The Chicago Youth Symphony Orchestra serves nearly 500 talented Chicago-area musicians ages 6-18 through three full orchestras, three string orchestras, multiple steel orchestras and supplemental programs that include chamber music ensembles, music theory and composition. Alumnus Joshua Simonds is Executive Director.

Alan Shockley Nabs Two Premieres

Trumpeter Joe Drew premiered Alan Shockley’s new miniature for double-bell trumpet, “Taoyuan airport (after Arvo Pärt)” on a Composer’s Voice concert in Manhattan on Oct. 12th. Dr. Shockley’s piece “stone guest” (19 fanfares in open form), received a performance in Bogliasco, Italy by performers of the Conservatorio Nicolò Paganini (Genova).

Alex Miller Performs New Compositions

Lecturer Alex Miller performed his new composition “The Road: Three Stories Without Words” for electric guitar quartet on the West Coast Composers Forum’s concert at USC on October 25th.  He performed with guitarists Mckay Tebbs, Jon Kleinhans and Miles Jensen, and the group also premiered new works for electric guitar quartet by composers Clifford Tasner, Joe Sorce, Ross Wright and Mckay Tebbs.

Alan Shockley Premieres Piece for Shakuhachi and Harp

Dr. Alan Shockley was featured on the Camac Art Centre Facebook page. He just completed a month-long residency at the French Artist’s Colony where he completed a piece for shakuhachi and microtonally retuned harp with an ensemble of flute, clarinet, piano, percussion, violin, arpeggione (bowed guitar), and cello. The work is entitled “in oceangreen of shadow,” a line from the “Sirens” episode of James Joyce’s Ulysses. The work was premiered in May in Daniel Recital Hall.

Yumi Tamashiro premieres “Ligneous”

Alumnus Yumi Tamashiro premiered Andy Akiho’s piece Ligneous which she commissioned with Ian Rosenbaum. The concert was at the Princeton Sound Kitchen show on February 18th.

Yumi’s percussion group, Mobius Percussion Quartet, released Kate Neal’s ‘What Hath II’ in October. They have been endorsed by Vic Firth and will be touring CA and the midwest in the spring of the 2014-15 season.

photograph by David Adamcyk

Alex Miller Readies Two Premieres

Lecturer Alex Miller’s composition Actions & Resonances was performed by pianist Vincent Craig on the Annie Gaul Concert Series in Wernersville, Pennsylvania in February. Miller also recently completed a new piano composition to be premiered by Vincent Craig later this year.