CSULB FEA Department Office: UTC 104      Phone: 562-985-5404     Fax: 562-985-5405

FEA Faculty
& Staff

Department Chair
Jerry Mosher

Administrative Coordinator
Donna Thomas

Academic Advisor
Lorenzo Gutiérrez-Jarquin

Jack Anderson
Tom Blomquist
Sharyn Blumenthal
Kent Hayward
Jerry Mosher
Micheal C. Pounds
Jose Sanchez-H
Helen Hood Scheer

Lecturers: Media Production
Fletcher Beasley
Dennis Burke
Christopher Cain
John Muto
Rafael Nieto
Dave O'Brien
Kevin O'Brien
Stu Rosen
Philip Schwartz
Morgan Stiff
Jack Tucker

Lecturers: Screenwriting
Bonnie Blackburn
Morgan Land
Tina Mabry
Adam Moore
W. Reed Moran
Sarah Tatting-Kinzy

Lecturers: Critical Studies
Erica Aguero
Rowena Aquino
Jennifer Moorman
David O'Grady
Larry Smith
Laurel Westrup
Jonathan Wysocki

Technical Staff
Steve Hubbert
Robert Rhyu

Tina Mabry

Tina Mabry
Office:FA1 201C
Office Hours:  By appointment

A native of Tupelo, Mississippi, Tina Mabry graduated from the University of Southern California's School of Cinematic Arts with an MFA in Film Production in 2005. While participating in Film Independent's (FIND) Project: Involve, Tina finished developing and writing her short film, Brooklyn's Bridge to Jordan, which she went on to direct. The film screened at more than fifty film festivals worldwide and won multiple Jury and Audience Awards as well as an award for Best Director. Brooklyn's Bridge to Jordan aired on Showtime Networks, BET J (now Centric), and was voted the #1 film on the season finale of LOGO's The Click List 2: Best in Short Film. Shortly after graduating from USC, Tina co-wrote the feature screenplay Itty Bitty Titty Committee, which was directed by Jamie Babbit (But I'm a Cheerleader). The film premiered at the Berlin International Film Festival (2007) and won Best Feature Narrative at the South by Southwest Film & Music Festival (2007).

In 2008, Tina participated in the FIND's Directors Lab with her feature film, Mississippi Damned; the film was later awarded the Kodak Film Grant. While playing on the festival circuit, Mississippi Damned garnered an impressive thirteen awards from participation in fifteen film festivals including awards for Best Feature Film and Best Screenplay at the Chicago International Film Festival (2009). The film premiered on Showtime Networks in February 2011. Tina was named among the "25 New Faces of Independent Film" in Filmmaker magazine in July of 2009 and was recognized by Out magazine as one of the most inspirational and outstanding people of 2009. She was featured in The Advocate magazine as part of their "Top Forty Under 40" issue, which features the top 40 individuals who are raising the bar in their respective fields. With over 300 nominated artists and only 50 selected artists, Tina was named the James Baldwin Fellow in Media by United States Artists, a national grant-making and artist advocacy organization, in December 2010.

Tina's latest feature, County Line, was accepted into FIND's 2010 Screenwriters Lab. In April 2011, the script participated in Tribeca All Access where it won the Tribeca All Access Creative Promise Award. County Line also took part in FIND's Fast Track, a film financing market, which was held during the Los Angeles Film Festival 2011.

Concluding in June 2012, Tina participated in the Fox Writers Intensive, which is a highly selective writer's initiative designed to introduce experienced writers with unique voices, backgrounds, life and professional experiences that reflect the diverse perspectives of FOX's television and feature film audiences. Independent Television Service produced Tina's latest short film, Crossover, as part of their FUTURESTATES program; a series of independent mini-features showing visions of what life in America will be like in decades to come. The film premiered at the Tribeca Film Festival (2012) and screened at the Urbanworld Film Festival (2013) and the Pan African Film Festival (2013). In February 2013, Tina was a fellow in the Sundance Institute's Screenwriters Intensive. Tina is currently developing another film for the FUTURESTATES program, which is set to premiere Summer 2014.