Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach

Summer Parking

Parking Fees

A CSULB parking permit or day permit is required at all times, except as noted on entrances to parking areas. Parking permits may be purchased online at http://parking.csulb.edu or in person, if paying in cash only, at the Cashiers' Office, BH-148.

Parking Permits

You must purchase a Summer 2017 permit to park in the designated parking lots from May 22 - August 18, 2017. Student virtual permits are available for purchase online via e-check(no fee) or credit card (2.75% convenience fee). Student parking permits are valid one week prior to the start of instruction. Annual student parking permits are valid at the start of summer session and end with the spring semester For more information, please visit the LPR website.

Student virtual permits are valid in all general lots. Please adhere to the specific rules on the black and gold parking signs at the entrance of each lot to avoid being cited. Student virtual permits are valid in employee parking lots, with the exception of lot 5, after 5:30 p.m. on weekdays and all day on weekends. A vehicle with a student parking permit will be cited accordingly if parked in an employee lot before 5:30 p.m. For locations of general lots, please see the campus map. If you have not purchased annual or semester parking, you may choose to purchase a daily or short-term parking from a pay station for use in general parking lots or at short-term parking spaces.

Special Parking Permits

Disabled Drivers

You must display a Handicapped placard as well as your current student, employee, or day permit to park in any Handicapped space, designated by blue borders and a wheelchair emblem. If you do not have a placard, visit Disabled Student Services, BH-270. Your Handicapped placard does not entitle you to free parking at CSULB. If you need a short-term Handicapped parking permit, go to Parking and Transportation Services - see the campus map.

Student Carpool Parking

If you are a current CSULB student with a paid semester or a non-expiring payroll deduction parking permit, we encourage you to carpool to campus. Not only do carpool members share the cost of gas and a CSULB parking permit, but they can also avoid traffic by accessing the convenient HOV lanes on freeways leading to campus. More information is available on our Carpool webpage.

CSULB Vehicle Regulations

Cyclists and drivers must comply with all applicable sections of the California Vehicle Code. Posted speed limits on campus are 25 mph or 15 mph.

The speed limit in campus parking lots is 15 mph. Campus law enforcement and parking officers will cite you and charge a fine if you disregard the designated parking areas or other vehicle regulations. If issued a parking citation, you have 21 days to either pay the citation or contest the citation via the citation appeal process. After 21 calendar days, a late fee will be added to the regular citation fee. See the Parking and Transportation Services web page, or call them at (562) 985-4146.