Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

College Council

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Judy Brusslan Biological Sciences Spring 2017 Judy.Brusslan@csulb.edu
Douglas Pace Biological Sciences Spring 2018 Douglas.Pace@csulb.edu
Eric Sorin (chair) Chemistry and Biochemistry Spring 2017 Eric.Sorin@csulb.edu
K. Benjamin Hagedorn Geological Sciences Spring 2018 Klaus.Hagedorn@csulb.edu
Jen-Mei Chang Mathematics and Statistics Spring 2018 Jen-Mei.Chang@csulb.edu
Tianni Zhou Mathematics and Statistics Spring 2017 Tianni.Zhou@csulb.edu
Michael Peterson Physics and Astronomy Spring 2017 Michael.Peterson@csulb.edu
Susan Gomez-Zwiep Science Education Spring 2017 Susan.GomezZwiep@csulb.edu
Laura Kingsford College Dean N/A Laura.Kingsford@csulb.edu
Margaret Karteron Operations Officer, Ex-officio N/A Margaret.Karteron@csulb.edu

Council of Department Chairs

Name Department Email Address
Brian Livingston Biological Sciences Brian.Livingston@csulb.edu
Chris Brazier Chemistry and Biochemistry Chris.Brazier@csulb.edu
Richard Behl Geological Sciences Richard.Behl@csulb.edu
Tangan Gao Mathematics and Statistics Tangan.Gao@csulb.edu
Andreas Bill Physics and Astronomy Andreas.Bill@csulb.edu
Lisa Martin-Hansen Science Education Lisa.Martin-Hansen@csulb.edu
Laura Kingsford CNSM - Dean Laura.Kingsford@csulb.edu
Barbara Taylor CNSM - Associate Dean, Research Barbara.Taylor@csulb.edu
Krzysztof Slowinski CNSM – Associate Dean, Academic Programs, Evaluations, and Advising Krzysztof.Slowinski@csulb.edu
Henry Wu CNSM – Administrative Services Henry.Wu@csulb.edu
Maryanne Horton CNSM – Development Maryanne.Horton@csulb.edu
Margaret Karteron CNSM – Operations Margaret.Karteron@csulb.edu
Lane Olsen-Cooper CNSM - Dean's Assistant Lane.Olsen-Cooper@csulb.edu

Reappointment, Tenure, and Promotion Committee

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Chris Lowe Biological Sciences 2017 Chris.Lowe@csulb.edu
Lijuan Li Chemistry and Biochemistry 2018 Lijuan.Li@csulb.edu
Matt Becker Geological Sciences 2018 Matt.Becker@csulb.edu
Willaim Ziemer Mathematics and Statistics 2017 William.Ziemer@csulb.edu
Zvonimir Hlousek Physics and Astronomy 2017 Zvonimir.Hlousek@csulb.edu
VACANT Science Education    

Professional Leave Committee

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Bruno Pernet Biological Sciences 2017 Bruno.Pernet@csulb.edu
Vasanthy Narayanaswami Chemistry and Biochemistry 2017 Vas.Narayanaswami@csulb.edu
Lora Stevens Geological Sciences 2017 Lora.Stevens@csulb.edu
Olga Korosteleva Mathematics and Statistics 2017 Olga.Korosteleva@csulb.edu
Prashanth Jaikumar Physics and Astronomy 2017 Prashanth.Jaikumar@csulb.edu
Laura Henriques Science Education 2017 Laura.Henriques@csulb.edu

Proposal Review Committee - Reassigned Time Awards & Small Faculty Grants

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Lisa Klig Biological Sciences 2017 LS.Klig@csulb.edu
Eric Marinez Chemistry and Biochemistry 2017 Eric.Marinez@csulb.edu
Matt Becker Geological Sciences 2017 Matt.Becker@csulb.edu
Olga Korosteleva Mathematics and Statistics 2017 Olga.Korosteleva@csulb.edu
TBD Physics and Astronomy 2017  
Lisa Martin-Hansen Physics and Astronomy 2017 L.Martin-Hansen@csulb.edu

Proposal Review Committee - CNSM Review-Mini Grants & Summer Stipends

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Darren Johnson Biological Sciences 2017 Darren.Johnson@csulb.edu
Vasanthy Narayanaswami Chemistry and Biochemistry 2017 Vas.Narayanaswami@csulb.edu
Matt Becker Geological Sciences 2017 Matt.Becker@csulb.edu
Xuhui Li Mathematics and Statistics 2017 Xuhui.Li@csulb.edu
TBD Physics and Astronomy 2017  
Lisa Martin-Hansen Physics and Astronomy 2017 L.Martin-Hansen@csulb.edu

Curriculum Committee

Name Department Email Address
Kay Lee-Fruman Biological Sciences Kay.Lee-Fruman@csulb.edu
Eric Sorin Chemistry and Biochemistry Eric.Soren@csulb.edu
Tom Kelty Geological Sciences T.Kelty@csulb.edu
Kent Merryfield Mathematics and Statistics Kent.Merryfield@csulb.edu
Galen Pickett (Chair) Physics and Astronomy Galen.Pickett@csulb.edu
William Straits Science Education W.Straits@csulb.edu
Krzysztof Slowinski CNSM Associate Dean for Academic Programs, Advising, and Evaluation Krzysztof.Slowinski@csulb.edu
Margaret Karteron Operations Officer Margaret.Karteron@csulb.edu

Grade Appeals Committee

Committee of three CNSM faculty members, appointed by the Dean and 1 student representative appointed by the ASI.

Name Department Email Address
Renaud Berlemont Biological Sciences Renaud.Berlemont@csulb.edu
Deepali Bhandari Chemistry and Biochemistry Deepali.Bhandari@csulb.edu
Laura Henriques Science Education Laura.Henriques@csulb.edu
TBD Student Representative (appointed by ASI)  

Academic Senate

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Flora Banuett Biological Sciences 2018 Flora.Banuett@csulb.edu
Judy Brusslan Biological Sciences 2017 Judy.Brusslan@csulb.edu
Christopher Brazier Chemistry and Biochemistry 2019 Chris.Brazier@csulb.edu
Katarzyna Slowinska Chemistry and Biochemistry 2017 Katarzyna.Slowinska@csulb.edu
Chung-min Lee Mathematics and Statistics 2018 Chung-min.Lee@csulb.edu
Galen Pickett Physics and Astronomy 2019 Galen.Pickett@csulb.edu
Alan Colburn Science Education 2017 Alan.Colburn@csulb.edu
VACANT Lecturer 2017  

Curriculum and Educational Policies Council

Elected by members of the faculty.

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Alan Colburn
(Fall 2016 Replacement)
Science Education 2016 (Dec) Alan.Colburn@csulb.edu
Hojin Moon
(Inactive Fall 2016)
Mathematics and Statistics 2018 Hojin.Moon@csulb.edu
Jen-Mei Chang
(Inactive Fall 2016)
Mathematics and Statistics 2017 Jen-Mei.Chang@csulb.edu

General Education Governing Committee (GEGC) - CNSM Representation

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Elizabeth Eldon Biological Sciences 2019 E.Eldon@csulb.edu
Florence Newberger
(Inactive Fall 2016)
Mathematics and Statistics 2017 Florence.Newberger@csulb.edu

Graduation Writing Assessment Requirement Committee - CNSM Representation

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Deborah Fraser Biological Sciences 2018 Deborah.Fraser@csulb.edu

International Education Committee

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Flora Banuett Biological Sciences 2018 Flora.Banuett@csulb.edu
Thomas Kelty Geological Sciences 2017 T.Kelty@csulb.edu

Educator Preparation Committee

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Lisa Martin-Hansen Science Education 2016 L.Martin-Hansen@csulb.edu

University Library Committee

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Yu Ding Mathematics and Statistics 2018 Yu.Ding@csulb.edu

Faculty Personnel Policies Council

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Galen Pickett Physics and Astronomy 2017 Galen.Pickett@csulb.edu

University Mini-Grant, Summer Stipend Committee (UMGSS)

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Dessie Underwood Biological Sciences 2017 Dessie.Underwood@csulb.edu
Olga Korosteleva Mathematics and Statistics 2018 Olga.Korosteleva@csulb.edu

University Awards Committee

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Editte Gharakhanian Biological Sciences 2017 E.Ghara@csulb.edu

University Resources Council

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Xuhui Li
(Inactive Fall 2016)
Mathematics and Statistics 2016 Xhuhi.Li@csulb.edu
Lisa Martin-Hansen Science Education 2017 L.Martin-Hansen@csulb.edu
Henry Wu CNSM Dean's Designee Ex-Officio Henry.Wu@csulb.edu

Program Assessment and Review Council (PARC)

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Houng-Wei Tsai
(Inactive Fall 2016)
Biological Sciences 2017 Houng-Wei.Tsai@csulb.edu
Thomas Gredig Physics and Astronomy 2018 Thomas.Gredig@csulb.edu

Faculty Advisory Committee on Technology (FACT)

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Bengt Allen Physics and Astronomy 2017 Bengt.Allen@csulb.edu