Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

College Council

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Judy Brusslan Biological Sciences Spring 2017 Judy.Brusslan@csulb.edu
Deborah Fraser Biological Sciences Spring 2016 Deborah.Fraser@csulb.edu
Eric Sorin Chemistry and Biochemistry Spring 2017 Eric.Sorin@csulb.edu
Lora Landon Stevens Geological Sciences Spring 2016 Lora.Stevens@csulb.edu
John Brevik Mathematics and Statistics Alternate Serving
Fall 2015
John.Brevik@csulb.edu
Joshua Chesler Mathematics and Statistics On Leave Fall 2015
Spring 2016
Josh.Chesler@csulb.edu
Tianni Zhou Mathematics and Statistics Spring 2017 Tianni.Zhou@csulb.edu
Michael Peterson Physics and Astronomy Spring 2017 Michael.Peterson@csulb.edu
Susan Gomez-Zwiep (Chair) Science Education Spring 2017 Susan.GomezZwiep@csulb.edu
Laura Kingsford College Dean N/A Laura.Kingsford@csulb.edu
Margaret Karteron Operations Officer, Ex-officio N/A Margaret.Karteron@csulb.edu

Council of Department Chairs

Name Department Email Address
Brian Livingston Biological Sciences Brian.Livingston@csulb.edu
Chris Brazier Chemistry and Biochemistry Chris.Brazier@csulb.edu
Stan Finney Geological Sciences Stan.Finney@csulb.edu
Tangan Gao Mathematics and Statistics Tangan.Gao@csulb.edu
Chuhee Kwon Physics and Astronomy Chuhee.Kwon@csulb.edu
Lisa Martin-Hansen Science Education Lisa.Martin-Hansen@csulb.edu
Laura Kingsford CNSM - Dean Laura.Kingsford@csulb.edu
Henry Fung CNSM - Associate Dean, Student Support Henry.Fung@csulb.edu
Dessie Underwood CNSM - Associate Dean, Research Dessie Underwood@csulb.edu
Krzysztof Slowinski CNSM – Associate Dean, Academic Programs, Evaluations, and Advising Krzysztof.Slowinski@csulb.edu
Henry Wu CNSM – Administrative Services Henry.Wu@csulb.edu
Maryanne Horton CNSM – Development Maryanne.Horton@csulb.edu
Margaret Karteron CNSM – Operations Margaret.Karteron@csulb.edu
Lane Olsen-Cooper CNSM - Assistant Lane.Olsen-Cooper@csulb.edu

Reappointment, Tenure, and Promotion Committee

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Chris Lowe Biological Sciences 2017 Chris.Lowe@csulb.edu
Lijuan Li Chemistry and Biochemistry 2016 Lijuan.Li@csulb.edu
VACANT Geological Sciences    
Willaim Ziemer Mathematics and Statistics 2017 William.Ziemer@csulb.edu
Zvonimir Hlousek Physics and Astronomy 2016 Zvonimir.Hlousek@csulb.edu
Alan Colburn Science Education 2016 Alan.Colburn@csulb.edu

Professional Leave Committee

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Bengt Allen Biological Sciences 2016 Bengt.Allen@csulb.edu
Michael Schramm Chemistry and Biochemistry 2016 Michael.Schramm@csulb.edu
Lora Stevens Geological Sciences 2016 Lora.Stevens@csulb.edu
Olga Korosteleva Mathematics and Statistics 2016 Olga.Korosteleva@csulb.edu
Jiyeong Gu Physics and Astronomy 2016 Jiyeong.Gu@csulb.edu
Thomas Kelty Science Education 2016 T.Kelty@csulb.edu

Proposal Review Committee

Will be elected by the CNSM Faculty Council December 2015.

Name Department Email Address

Curriculum Committee

Name Department Email Address
Kay Lee-Fruman Biological Sciences Kay.Lee-Fruman@csulb.edu
Eric Sorin Chemistry and Biochemistry Eric.Soren@csulb.edu
Tom Kelty Geological Sciences T.Kelty@csulb.edu
Kent Merryfield Mathematics and Statistics Kent.Merryfield@csulb.edu
Galen Pickett (Chair) Physics and Astronomy Galen.Pickett@csulb.edu
William Straits Science Education W.Straits@csulb.edu
Krzysztof Slowinski CNSM Associate Dean for Academic Programs, Advising, and Evaluation Krzysztof.Slowinski@csulb.edu
Margaret Karteron Operations Officer Margaret.Karteron@csulb.edu

Grade Appeals Committee

Committee of three CNSM faculty members, appointed by the Dean and 1 student representative appointed by the ASI.

Name Department Email Address
Theodore Stankowich Biological Sciences Theodore.Stankowich@csulb.edu
Michael Schramm Chemistry and Biochemistry Michael.Schramm@csulb.edu
Kagba Suaray Mathematics and Statistics Kagba.Suaray@csulb.edu
Jason Jose Student Representative (appointed by ASI)  

Academic Senate

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Flora Banuett Biological Sciences 2018 Flora.Banuett@csulb.edu
Judy Brusslan Biological Sciences 2017 Judy.Brusslan@csulb.edu
Christopher Brazier Chemistry and Biochemistry 2016 Chris.Brazier@csulb.edu
Chung-min Lee Mathematics and Statistics 2018 Chung-min.Lee@csulb.edu
Galen Pickett Physics and Astronomy 2016 Galen.Pickett@csulb.edu
Alan Colburn Science Education 2017 Alan.Colburn@csulb.edu
Elaine Bernal Lecturer (Chemistry and Biochemistry) 2016 Elaine.Bernal@csulb.edu

Curriculum and Educational Policies Council

Elected by members of the faculty.

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Hojin Moon Mathematics and Statistics 2018 Hojin.Moon@csulb.edu
Jen-Mei Chang Mathematics and Statistics 2017 Jen-Mei.Chang@csulb.edu

General Education Governing Committee (GEGC) - CNSM Representation

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Elizabeth Eldon Biological Sciences 2016 E.Eldon@csulb.edu
Florence.Newberger Mathematics and Statistics 2017 Florence.Newberger@csulb.edu

Graduation Writing Assessment Requirement Committee - CNSM Representation

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Deborah Fraser Biological Sciences 2018 Deborah.Fraser@csulb.edu

International Education Committee

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Flora Banuett Biological Sciences 2016 Flora.Banuett@csulb.edu
Thomas Kelty Geological Sciences 2017 T.Kelty@csulb.edu

Educator Preparation Committee

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Lisa Martin-Hansen Science Education 2016 L.Martin-Hansen@csulb.edu

University Library Committee

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Young-Seok Shon Chemistry and Biochemistry 2014 YS.Shon@csulb.edu

Faculty Personnel Policies Council

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Galen Pickett Physics and Astronomy 2017 Galen.Pickett@csulb.edu

University Mini-Grant, Summer Stipend Committee (UMGSS)

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Nate Onderdonk Geological Sciences 2017 Nate.Onderdonk@csulb.edu
Olga Korosteleva Mathematics and Statistics 2016 Olga.Korosteleva@csulb.edu

University Awards Committee

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Young-Seok Shon Chemistry and Biochemistry 2016 YS.Shon@csulb.edu

University Resources Council

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Chuhee Kwon Physics and Astronomy 2016 Chuhee.Kwon@csulb.edu
Lisa Martin-Hansen Science Education 2017 L.Martin-Hansen@csulb.edu
Henry Wu CNSM Dean's Designee Ex-Officio Henry.Wu@csulb.edu

Program Assessment and Review Council (PARC)

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Houng-Wei Tsai Biological Sciences 2017 Houng-Wei.Tsai@csulb.edu
Thomas Gredig Physics and Astronomy 2018 Thomas.Gredig@csulb.edu

Faculty Advisory Committee on Technology (FACT)

Name Department Term Expires Email Address
Prashanth Jaikumar Physics and Astronomy 2016 Prashanth.Jaikumar@csulb.edu