Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Science Education banner

Faculty and Staff

You are lucky to be taught by some of the best faculty on campus! Faculty in the Science Education Department have distinguished themselves in numerous ways. They are sought after to work on major projects, they have received numerous grants, awards and they coordinate many projects at the local and national level. Learn more about their grants and projects. This is a partial listing of faculty awards and honors.

You'll find contact information below for Science Education faculty and staff. For general information, contact the Science Education department office at 562.985.4801 or visit us in HSCI-205.

Chair and Program Advisors

Name Photo Position & Contact Office Hours
Lisa Martin-Hansen Chair, Professor
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-205
L.MartinHansen@csulb.edu
By Appointment
Kristin Straits   Science Credential Program Advisor, Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-218
Kristin.Straits@csulb.edu
Wed: 2:00pm-4:00pm
Thu: 2:00pm-4:00pm
or By Appointment
Al Colburn Graduate Program Advisor
562.985.5948
Office: HSCI-216
Alan.Colburn@csulb.edu

Dr. Colburn's Website
By Appointment

Faculty

Name Photo Position & Contact Office Hours
Tamara Araya Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-206
Tamara.Araya@csulb.edu
Monday by Appointment
Amy Argento   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-206
mrs.argento@yahoo.com
Tuesday after class
or By Appointment
Susan Gomez-Zwiep Professor
562.985.5574
Office: HSCI-204
Susan.GomezZwiep@csulb.edu
Mon: 1:00pm-2:00pm
Tue: 12:00pm-1:00pm
Wed: 4:00pm-5:00pm
or By Appointment
Angelica Gunderson   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-212
Angelica.Gunderson@csulb.edu
Thursday immediately before or after class
David Harris   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-204
Dharris62@mac.com
Mon: 8:00am-9:00am & 12:15pm-1:15pm
Wed: 8:00am-9:00am & 12:15pm-1:15pm
Laura Henriques Professor
562.985.1408
Office: HSCI-214
Laura.Henriques@csulb.edu

Dr. Henriques's Website
Thu: 4:00pm-5:00pm
or By Appointment
Stephanie Heyer   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-204
Sheyer1968@hotmail.com
By Appointment
Tom Kelty Professor
562.985.4589
Office: HSCI-314
T.Kelty@csulb.edu
Mon: 12:00pm-1:00pm
Thu: 10:00am-12:00pm
or By Appointment
Jim Kisiel Associate Professor
562.985.1325
Office: HSCI-208
J.Kisiel@csulb.edu
On Sabbatical for 2018-2019 Academic Year
Adrian Lucero   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-210
Adrian.Lucero@csulb.edu
By Appointment
Keith Miller Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-212
anthromiller@gmail.com
Monday after class
or By Appointment
Myra Pasquier Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-212
Myra.Pasquier@csulb.edu
Immediately before and after class
or By Appointment
Youngjin Song   Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-210
Youngjin.Song@csulb.edu
Mon: 1:00pm-3:00pm
Tue: 3:30pm-4:30pm
Thu: 3:30pm-4:30pm
or By Appointment
William Straits Professor
562.985.1965
Office: HSCI-202
W.Straits@csulb.edu
Immediately after class
or By appointment
Jo Topps Lecturer
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-212
jtopps@wested.org
Not Teaching Fall 2018
Carol Welsh Lecturer
562.985.5398
Office: HSCI-206
Carol.Welsh@csulb.edu
Tue: 3:30pm-4:45pm
Thu: 3:30pm-4:45pm

Student Teacher Supervisors

Name Photo Position & Contact Office Hours
Merlin Driggs Student Teacher Supervisor
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-205
mdriggs971@aol.com
Via Email
Jackie Gallaway   Student Teacher Supervisor
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-205
jackiegallaway@sbcglobal.net
Via Email
Dean Gilbert   Student Teacher Supervisor
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-205
Gilbert_dean@me.com
Via Email
Kurt Holland   Student Teacher Supervisor
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-205
Kurt.Holland@gmail.com
Via Email
Mary Nowak Student Teacher Supervisor
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-205
mary.nowak555@gmail.com
Via Email
Rod Raschke   Student Teacher Supervisor
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-205
melrodraschke@verizon.net
Via Email
William Ritz Professor Emeritus, Student Teacher Supervisor
William.Ritz@csulb.edu
 

Staff

Name Photo Position & Contact Office Hours
Danny Ames   Web Developer
562.985.1407
Office: HSCI-154
Daniel.Ames@csulb.edu
 
Natalia Mora   Department Coordinator
562.985.4801
Office: HSCI-205
natalia.mora@csulb.edu