Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Science Education banner

Faculty and Staff

You are lucky to be taught by some of the best faculty on campus! Faculty in the Science Education Department have distinguished themselves in numerous ways. They are sought after to work on major projects, they have received numerous grants, awards and they coordinate many projects at the local and national level. Learn more about their grants and projects. This is a partial listing of faculty awards and honors.

You'll find contact information below for Science Education faculty and staff. For general information, contact the Science Education department office at (562) 985-4801 or visit us in HSCI-205.

Chair and Program Advisors

Name Photo Position & Contact Information Office Hours
Lisa Martin-Hansen lisa3 Chair, Professor
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-205
L.MartinHansen@csulb.edu
Lisa Martin-Hansen View Faculty Website
By appointment
Tim Williamson Tim3 Science Credential Program Advisor
(562) 985-5949
Office: HSCI-218
Tim.Williamson@csulb.edu

Open Advising Hrs:
Tu & Wed 1:00-5:00pm

 

Al Colburn Colburn3 Graduate Program Advisor
(562) 985-5948
Office: HSCI-216
Alan.Colburn@csulb.edu
Al Colburn View Faculty Website

Mon/Wed: 12-1pm

By Appointment.


Science Education Staff and Faculty

Name Photo Position & Contact Information Office Hours
Danny Ames Danny Ames Web Developer
(562) 985-1407
Office: HSCI-154
Daniel.Ames@csulb.edu
 
Tamara Araya   Lecturer
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-205
taraya@lbschools.net
Monday by Appointment.
Katie Beck Katie Beck Lecturer
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-206
kbboogie@yahoo.com
By Appointment
Natalia Mora Hellen Carcamo Department Coordinator
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-205
natalia.mora@csulb.edu
Monday - Friday
8 am - 5 pm
Merlin Driggs merlin Student Teacher Supervisor
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-205
mdriggs971@aol.com
Via Email
Suzan Gomez-Zwiep Susan3 Associate Professor
(562) 985-5574
Office: HSCI-204
Susan.GomezZwiep@csulb.edu

Mon/Wed: 10-11am or

By Appointment

Laura Henriques laura Professor
(562) 985-1408
Office: HSCI-214
Laura.Henriques@csulb.edu
Laura Henriques View Faculty Website

Monday: 3-4pm

Wednesday: 12-1pm

or by Appointment.

Tom Kelty Tom Kelty Professor
(562) 985-4589
Office: HSCI-314
T.Kelty@csulb.edu
By Appointment
Jim Kisiel Jim Kisiel Associate Professor
(562) 985-1325
Office: HSCI-208
J.Kisiel@csulb.edu

Tue/Thur: 12-1pm or

By Appointment

Keith Miller Keith Miller Lecturer
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-212
kwmiller@lbschools.net
Tu 7:008:00pm;
or by appointment
Mary Nowak Mary Nowak Student Teacher Supervisor
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-205
mary.nowak555@gmail.com
Via Email
Rose Olivares Rose Olivares Student Teacher Supervisor
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-205
rao-mew@pacbell.net
Via Email
Myra Pasquier myra Lecturer
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-212
Myra.Pasquier@csulb.edu

By appointment or immediately before/after class.

William Ritz William Ritz Professor Emeritus, Student Teacher Supervisor
(562) 985-4802
Office: MIC-002
William.Ritz@csulb.edu
William Ritz View Faculty Website
 
Kristin Straits  

Lecturer

(562) 985-4801

Office: HSCI-210

csulbkristin@gmail.com

By appointment or immediately before/after class.
William Straits bill Associate Professor
(562) 985-1965
Office: HSCI-202
W.Straits@csulb.edu
By appointment or immediately before/after class.
Jo Topps Jo Topps Lecturer
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-212
jtopps@wested.org
M 7:008:00pm
Carol Welsh Carol Welsh Lecturer, Student Teacher Supervisor, AFSE Support
(562) 985-5398
Office: HSCI-205
carol.welsh@csulb.edu
MW 12:15-1:15pm or by appointment
Sharon Writer Sharon Writer Lecturer, Student Teacher Supervisor
(562) 985-1966
Office: HSCI-210
Sharon.Writer@csulb.edu
Via Email
Rod Ziolkowski Rod Ziolkowski Lecturer
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-206
rodziolkow@aol.com
Not teaching Spring 2016