Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Department of Physical Therapy
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font

Awards and Accolades

  • Congrtulations to part-time instructor and PT@theBeach advisory committee member Dave Powers PT, DPT, MA, MBA who received the Charles Magistro Service Award at the 2015 California Physical Therapy Association meeting. Tis award honors a CPTA member that has " Provided consistent, valuable and exceptional service to the Chapter and to the APTA"
  • Congratulations to CSULB DPT's for getting 2nd Place in the Student Bowl competition at the CPTA Student Conclave at CSU Sacramento on April 11-12th.
  • student bowl 2015
  • Congratulations go out to Dr. Jody Cormack, PT, DPT, MS Ed, NCS who received the Neurology Section's Award of Service at the Combined Sections Meeting in Indianapolis in February, 2015. Dr. Cormack as served the Neurology Section in several different capacities such as the sections Secretary and chairperson of several SIG's over a 17 year span.
  • Faculty member, Kay Cerny, PhD, PT, former Department of Physical Therapy Chair,  was awarded the Royce Noland Award of Merit, the highest honor of the California Chapter, American Physical Therapy Association (CPTA) at the CPTA annual conference in October, 2014, in Oakland, CA..  The award is in recognition of exceptional service and achievement by an individual to the profession of Physical Therapy.


We are proud to recognize our alumni who were newly Certified as Clinical Specialists in 2015 and were recognized for their accomplishments at the Combined Sections Meeting in Anaheim in February, 2016:

  • Diana Rizza ('80) PT, GCS
  • Sherwin de Guzman ('12) PT, MPT, OCS
  • Lauren Hooker ('10) PT, MPT, OCS
  • Francisco Jimeno ('07) PT, MPT, OCS
  • Christopher Nitollama ('09) PT, MPT, OCS
  • Katrina Parsons ('09) PT, MPT, OCS
  • Adam Wheeler ('12) PT, MPT, OCS
  • Jennifer Nitollama ('09) PT, MPT, PCS
  • Casie Tappon ('09) PT, MPT, PCS
  • Alison Yamaguchi ('93) PT, PCS