Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
University Template Project Secondary Banner Example
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font

Editor's Comments

Of course I talk to myself,
sometimes I need expert advice.

The SUN staff welcomes three new members:
Eileen Ringerman and Cindy Smith as copy
editors and Richard Adams, photographer.
Thank you, Scarlet Finney, for being Assistant Editor for several months. We regret that she chose tolupe
not continue.
The OLLI Governing Council has two new members: Guadalupe Ruelas, Archivist; and Michael Gavin,
Member at Large.
On Saturday, March 7, there was registration
madness again. Two hundred students woke upgAVIN
early to make sure that they would get into a
computer class or Michelle’s Shakespeare class.

Judy Mednick’s poem on page 11 of THE SUN honors octogenarian poker players: Max Freedland, Mike Goldenberg, Jerry Manheim, Otto Ross, Jack Otis, Arnie Schulman, Dick Blankenship and me.
OLLI’s new officers will be elected at our general membership
meeting on September 19. The bylaw changes will be presented
at a June 30th meeting. Mark your calendars; your attendance is
Summer Solstice: June 21, 2015, 9:38 am PDT

Sun Staff


  • Jack Blecher

Assistant Editor

  • Richard Adams

Copy Editors

  • Tina Bowman
  • Elizabeth Reinhart
  • Cindy Smith
  • Eileen Ringerman


  • Arthur Gottlieb
  • Roselind Hertz
  • Kathy Winkenwerder
  • Sylvia Manheim
  • Thelma Teitel
  • Loren Curtis
  • Geoff Carr
  • Judy Granger
  • Suzanne Walsh
  • Sydelle Pomi


  • Richard Adams

Graphics - Cartoonists

  • Harold Drab
  • Phil Garcia
  • Bruce Hatch


  • Rebecca Low


OLLI Governing Council
Name Position
Dr. Barbara White Executive Director
Malcolm Green President
William Fitzpatrick Vice President
Karin Covey Treasurer
Vicki O'Toole Secretary
Judie Irving Community Relations

Wes Peck

Kathy Winkenwerder

Computer Lab Coordinators
vacant Membership
Mary Jane Payan Social & Special Events

Pat Wrenn

Karin McDonough

Curriculum Chairs

Jack Blecher


Guadalupe Ruelas Archivist
Michael Gavin Member-at-Large
Les Jacobson Member-at-Large
Don Friedman Arts Ad Hoc Committee
Betty Hutchens Arts Ad Hoc Committee
Carl Curtis President Emeritus

Dolores Volpe

Bea Roth

Leisure World Contacts

Ken Nakagawa

Pine Avenue Contact
Dennis Youkstetter Ad Hoc Development

OLLI Advisory Board

  • Donald Brault
  • Dixie Grimmett
  • Kit Katz
  • Donald Lauda
  • Rosemary Lewallen
  • Nancy Lewis
  • Theresa Marino
  • Charlene Young
  • Dr. Susan Mathieu
  • Iris Schutz