Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
College of Health and Human Services Academic Advising & Resource Center

CHHS Undergraduate Faculty Mentors

CHHS faculty mentors provide students assistance with:

    • Career opportunities
    • Graduate program information
    • Internship inquiries
    • Major/discipline specific questions
    • Study abroad course approval

All other academic advising questions should be directed to the CHHS Advising center.

Criminal Justice (CRJU)

Name Email Location
Dr. Brenda Vogel brenda.vogel@csulb.edu ET-233

Family & Consumer Sciences (FCS)

(advised according to last name)
Option Name Telephone Email Location
Child Development & Family Studies (A-H) Dr. Nancy Dayne (562) 985-4491 nancy.dayne@csulb.edu FCS-103A
Child Development & Family Studies (I-P) Dr. Youngok Jung (562) 985-7494 youngok.jung@csulb.edu FCS-FA-13
Child Development & Family Studies (Q-Z) Dr. Richard Tuveson (562) 985-4487 richard.tuveson@csulb.edu FCS-101A
Consumer Affairs Dr. Peter Kreysa (562) 985-8111 peter.kreysa@csulb.edu FCS-FA-8
Family Life Education (A-M) Dr. Nilufer Medora (562) 985-4488 nilufer.medora@csulb.edu FCS-101A
Family Life Education (N-Z) Dr. Roudi Roy (562) 985-7496 roudi.roy@csulb.edu FCS-103
Fashion Design Dr. MyungHee Sohn (562) 985-4401 myunghee.sohn@csulb.edu FCS-010
Fashion Merchandising (A-G) Dr. Marine Aghekyan (562) 985-4483 marine.aghekyan@csulb.edu FCS-FA-9
Fashion Merchandising (H-N) Dr. Marie Botkin (562) 985- 4056 marie.botkin@csulb.edu FCS-014
Fashion Merchandising (O-T) Dr. Young Ha (562) 985- 4370 young.ha@csulb.edu FCS-FA-10
Fashion Merchandising (U-Z) Dr. Hye Jeong Kim (562) 985-7490 hyejeong.kim@csulb.edu FCS-FA-3
Fashion (Study Abroad) Dr. Suzanne Marshall (562) 985-4404 suzanne.marshall@csulb.edu FCS-FA-2
Food Science Dr. Cheryl Rock (562) 985-4497 cheryl.rock@csulb.edu FCS-135
Gerontology (Certificate & Minor) Dr. Maria Claver (562) 985-4495 maria.claver@csulb.edu FCS-FA-11
Hospitality Management (A-H) Dr. Lee Blecher (562) 985-4493 lee.blecher@csulb.edu FCS -119
Hospitality Management (I-Q) Dr. Libby Gustin (562) 985-4516 libby.gustin@csulb.edu FCS-125
Hospitality Management (R-Z) Dr. Susan Zhong (562) 985-4496 susan.zhong@csulb.edu FCS-FA-7
Nutrition & Dietetics (A-C) Dr. Gail Frank (562) 985-4494 gail.frank@csulb.edu FCS-121
Nutrition & Dietetics (D-G) Dr. Rachel Blaine (562) 985-2141 rachel.blaine@csulb.edu FCS-FA-15
Nutrition & Dietetics (H-M) Dr. Michelle Barrack (562) 985-4545 michelle.barrack@csulb.edu FCS-FA-12
Nutrition & Dietetics (N-R) Dr. Virginia Gray (562) 985-4482 virginia.gray@csulb.edu FCS-FA-5
Nutrition & Dietetics (S-Z) Dr. Long Wang (562) 985-7492 long.wang@csulb.edu FCS-FA-16

Health Care Administration (HCA)

 
Name Telephone Location
All HCA faculty serve as faculty mentors (562) 985-5694 HHS2-118

Health Science (HSC)

Option Name Telephone Email Location
Community Health Education TBD    
School Health Education Victoria Bisorca (562) 985-8083 vikki.bisorca@csulb.edu HHS2-119

Kinesiology (KIN)

Option Name Email Location
K-12 Teaching Credential Dr. Emyr Williams emyr.williams@csulb.edu HHS2-207
Adapted Physical Education Dr. Barry Lavay barry.lavay@csulb.edu HHS2-214
Athletic Training Dr. Mimi Nakajima mimi.nakajima@csulb.edu HHS2-202
Exercise Science (A-H) Dr. Jill Crussemeyer jill.crussemeyer@csulb.edu HHS2-212
Exercise Science (I-L) Dr. Josh Cotter joshua.cotter@csulb.edu HHS2-209
Exercise Science (M-R) Dr. Evan Schick evan.schick@csulb.edu HHS2-210
Exercise Science (S-Z) Dr. Will Wu will.wu@csulb.edu HHS2-200
Fitness Dr. Michelle Alencar michelle.alencar@csulb.edu HHS2-220
Physical Education Teacher Education (A-M) Dr. Christine Galvan christine.galvan@csulb.edu HHS2-215
Physical Education Teacher Education (N-Z) Dr. Jeff Kress jeff.kress@csulb.edu HHS2-217
Sport Psychology and Leadership (A-M) Dr. Alison Ede alison.ede@csulb.edu HHS2-222
Sport Psychology and Leadership (N-Z) Dr. Leilani Madrigal leilani.madrigal@csulb.edu HHS2-225

Nursing (NRSG)

Program Name Telephone Email Location
Basic Dr. Beth Keely (562) 985-4478 NUR-60A
RN Dr. Beth Keely (562) 985-4478 NUR-60A

Recreation & Leisure Studies (REC)

Area Name Telephone Email Location
Undergraduate Advisor Dr. Keith Fulthorp (562) 985-8728 keith.fulthorp@csulb.edu ET-101D
Campus Rec & Student Service Programs Dr. Keith Fulthorp (562) 985-8728 keith.fulthorp@csulb.edu ET-101D
Nonprofit & Volunteer Services Dr. Keith Fulthorp (562) 985-8728 keith.fulthorp@csulb.edu ET-101D
Outdoor Recreation Resources Dr. Curt Davidson TBD TBD ET-101
Recreation Therapy Patti LaPlace (562) 985-8075 patti.laplace@csulb.edu ET-101G
Travel & Tourism Dr. Shengnan Zhao (562) 985-4074 shengnan.zhao@csulb.edu ET-101D
Event Planning Management Dr. Laurel Richmond (562) 985-4079 laurel.richmond@csulb.edu ET-101F

Social Work (SW)

Name Telephone Email Location
Dr. Lisa Jennings (562) 985-8629 lisa.jennings@csulb.edu SS/PA 004

Speech Language Pathology (SLP)

Name Telephone Email Location
Dr. Lei Sun (562) 985-2907 lei.sun@csulb.edu LAB-215