Dean's Update, December 20, 2013

Ethics Across the Curriculum Winners Announced

Through its annual Ethics Across the Curriculum program, the Ukleja Center grants $2,000 stipends to faculty members who integrate a 3-hour ethics module into their courses. Fourteen proposals were received this year.  The review committee, chaired by Professor Kathleen Lacey, selected the following faculty stipend recipients for 2013-2014:

  • Mehrdad Aliasgari – Computer Security Ethics and Privacy (Computer Engineering and Computer Science)
  • Alan Colburn – Ethical Dilemmas of Vaccine Testing: The Story of Polio (Science Education)
  • Emma Daugherty – The Ethical Use of Online and Social Media as a Communicative Tool: Challenges for Journalists and Public Relations Professionals (Journalism and Mass Communication)
  • Jennifer Fleming – Creating a Code of Ethics for News Audiences in the Digital Age (Journalism and Mass Communication)
  • Cheryl Lee – Ethics for Social Group Work Practice (Social Work)
  • Jessica Pandya and Deborah Hamm – Ethics in the Elementary Classroom: Bridging Theory and Practice in Pre-service Teacher Education (Teacher Education)

The award recipients will be honored at a luncheon in the spring, where they will share how their modules are infusing ethics across the campus.  Ukleja Center Governing Council members, deans of the awardees’ colleges, and the review committee will also attend the celebratory luncheon.