HSI STEM

Overview

Title III, Part F, HSI STEM & Articulation Programs is a $4.4 million grant awarded to California State University, Long Beach (CSULB) by the U.S. Department of Education to expand and enhance educational opportunities for, and improve the academic attainment of, Hispanic students. The CSULB HSI STEM initiative is a multidisciplinary collaboration between the College of Engineering (COE), the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics (CNSM), and the National Council of La Raza (NCLR)/CSULB Center for Latino Community Health, Evaluation, and Leadership Training.  The goal of the CSULB HSI STEM program is to increase the number of Latino students attaining highly valued degrees in the fields of science, technology, engineering, or mathematics.

For more information on HSI-STEM, Please visit: web.csulb.edu/programs/hsi-stem or email us at hsi-stem@csulb.edu.

Staff

  • Natalia Gatdula
  • Natalia Gatdula
  • Project Coordinator
  • natalia.gatdula@csulb.edu
  • Helen Barriere
  • Helen Barriere
  • Promotores Coordinator
  • helen.barriere@csulb.edu
  • Jason Ayala, BS
  • Jason Ayala, BS
  • HSI STEM Web & Media Coordinator
  • jason.ayala@csulb.edu
  • Nora Ortiz-Sanchez
  • Nora Ortiz-Sanchez
  • Administrative Assistant
  • nora.ortiz-sanchez@csulb.edu
  • Erika Bonilla, BS
  • Erika Bonilla, BS
  • Assistant Program Coordinator
  • erika.bonilla@csulb.edu
  • Alex Garbanati, BA
  • Alex Garbanati, BA
  • Graphic Artist/Multimedia Strategist
  • alex.garbanati@csulb.edu
  • Miguel Angel Ortiz-Valenzuela
  • Miguel Angel Ortiz-Valenzuela
  • STEM Data Manager
  • MiguelAngel.OrtizValenzuela@csulb.edu
  • Monica Aguilar, MPH(c)
  • Monica Aguilar, MPH(c)
  • Research Assistant
  • monica.aguilar@student.csulb.edu

Components

  1. Promotores de STEM Mentorship Program
  2. Drop-in Tutoring
  3. Summer Bridge to The Beach
  4. Winter Research Experience
  5. Latino Leadership in STEM Course
  6. Experience Success Program for Transfer Students Course (NSCI 390)
  7. Bienvenida Event
  8. Website and Social Media
  9. Faculty Development