Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Economics Newsletter
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font

Student Scholarship Award

The 2010 recipient of the Ray and Marge Lancaster Scholarship, and the third student to receive the award since 2008, is Marilyn Vasquez. Vasquez is an undergraduate student whose focus is applied mathematics and economic theory. After graduation, her plans include going to graduate school and researching the career path upon which she wants to concentrate. She has begun to look into careers of an actuary, accountant and budget analyst, and aspires to be an individual who gives back to her community.

The Ray and Marge Lancaster Scholarship was made possible by the generous donation of their son, Brad, who received both an undergraduate and graduate degree in economics at CSULB. His desire in setting up the scholarship was to honor the memory of his parents and to ease the financial struggle of either an undergraduate or graduate student in economics. The Center for Scholarship Information, under the Division of Student Services, coordinated the selection process with the assistance of faculty in a blind review process. The scholarship is highly competitive and is awarded on several criteria, including a student’s background, career aspirations and how this scholarship will significantly impact the student’s life.


Outstanding Economics Students

This year, the Economics Department conferred the Wallace Atherton Memorial Award on an Outstanding Graduating Senior, the J. Richard Powell Award of Merit to the Outstanding Graduate Student, and announced the Outstanding Graduating Senior in Economics. The 2009-10 awardees are Kristen Haldeman, Medardo Bonilla, Clifton Bachmeier and Anna Larsson. Sungmhin Shin and Naro Chea were both recipients of the Distinguished Master’s Student Award in Economics.

Kristen HaldemanKristen Haldeman is the recipient of the Wallace Atherton Memorial Award and was also named the Outstanding Graduating Senior in Mathematical Economics. Haldeman was a double major in applied mathematics and mathematical economics; she graduated summa cum laude in both subjects. She was also on the President’s List of Outstanding Students who maintained a GPA of 3.75 or higher. 

Anna LarssonAnna Larsson is the recipient of the Distinguished Graduating Senior in Business Economics award. Larsson, an international student from Sweden who tutored economics, accounting and finance at the CSULB Learning Assistance Center, was on the President’s List of Outstanding Students, maintaining a GPA of 3.75 or higher. She recently acquired a work permit and is excited about entering the workforce.  In 2011, Larsson plans on returning to school to get her doctorate.

Clifton Bachmeier
Clifton Bachmeier is the recipient of the Outstanding Graduating Senior in Economics award. Bachmeier graduated magna cum laude in economics and was on the President's List of Outstanding Students. During his years at CSULB, Bachmeier worked as a tutor at the Learning Assistance Center and was president of the Financial Management Association, treasurer of the Golden Key International Honour Society and was a fundraiser for Engineers without Borders. He intends to pursue a career in economic development and public policy, which has been the main focus of much of his college education.  

Medardo BonilloMedardo Bonilla is the recipient of the J. Richard Powell Award for the Outstanding Graduate Student. He also became a member of Omicron Delta Epsilon, the international honor society in economics. Bonilla is currently working as a cost analyst at Jas Forwarding USA, an international freight forwarding company in Los Angeles. He enjoys hiking, environmental conservation and spending time with his baby daughter. 

MAGL Students Win CSULB Outstanding Graduate Researchers Award

MAGL students Mathew Stramer, Christine Tamayo and David Sung

M.A. in Global Logistics (MAGL) students Mathew Stramer, David Sung and Christine Tamayo earned second place in the CSULB 24th Annual Student Research Competition held Feb. 26, 2010. The students earned the recognition under the Business, Economics and Public Administration category for their paper titled, "The Impact of Consumer Demand, Market Price of Aviation Fuel and Competition on Load Factors of Air Freight Imports to the United States." These students were also awarded Outstanding Graduate Researchers at the University Awards ceremony in May. The three winners decided to give back to the MAGL program by donating their prize money to the Joseph P. Magaddino Scholarship Fund.

Omicron Delta Epsilon logoOmicron Delta Epsilon

The Tau Chapter of Omicron Delta Epsilon, the international honor society in economics, inducted three new members in 2009-10. To qualify for membership, undergraduate applicants must have completed at least 12 units in economics with an average of "B" or better and have an overall GPA of at least 3.0. Graduate students are judged solely on their graduate work and must have completed one semester of full-time course work with attainment of a “B” or better average.

The Department of Economics faculty and staff wish to congratulate these newest members:

Christian Amos

Medardo Bonilla

Jin Gyue Lee

Jethro Naude

Sarey Torres

Ramon Vivero

It’s not too late for interested alumni to apply for membership in Omicron Delta Epsilon. Contact the department office at 562-985-5061 for additional information.