Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
University Template Banner Example
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font

Brennan Metzger at bat Brennan Metzger

Matt Maldonado running a track event
Matt Maldonado in the lead.

Big West Picks Academic Honorees

Long Beach State had 29 student-athletes selected for the Big West Conference’s Spring Academic All-Conference team, covering seven different sports for 2010-11. Students must be a sophomore or above, have participated in 50 percent of a team’s contests and carry a minimum 3.2 cumulative GPA.

Women’s track and field led the way with 10 players out of 56 making the list from the nine Big West schools. Four men’s track competitors were named including Men's Big West-Scholar Athlete of the Year Matt Maldonado.

Six of eight women’s tennis players earned spots, comprising 25 percent of the tennis honorees. Big West Scholar-Athlete of the Year Lauren Sieprath was among four women’s water polo players, while women’s golf had two players chosen.

CoSIDA Academic All-District selection Brennan Metzger was recognized, and softball had two honored, including first-team CoSIDA Academic All-District selection Taylor Petty.

Spring honorees were:
Baseball—Brennan Metzger
Women's Golf—Lindsey McAtee, Monica Villarreal
Softball—Taylor Petty, Alisha Rosen
Women's Tennis—Deborah Armstrong, Sarah Cantlay, Anais Dallara, Anna Jeczmionka, Julie Luzar, Klaudia Malenovska
Men's Track and Field—Rajan Bains, James Bush, Matt Maldonado, Michael Vaughan
Women's Track and Field—Janelle Coulter, Laura Faris, Prism Garcia, Rebecca Hamilton, Randi Hicks, Kayla Kamaka, Kristen Kiefer, Jennifer Rodriguez, Cheryl Smith, Aiyana Welsh
Women's Water Polo—Meaghan Leonard, Melissa Matheson, Lauren Sieprath, Kristen Stragier.

For the latest 49er Athletics news, visit

Taylor Petty winds up to pitch Taylor Petty